Chicago Sun-Times
We're watching TV. You're watching TV. Let's get on the same channel.

Who'll be voted off?: Reality hosts now eligible for Emmys

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Real competition is coming to reality TV: Hosts including Ryan Seacrest, Howie Mandel and Tyra Banks are now eligible for an Emmy Award.

A category recognizing ‘‘outstanding host for a reality or reality-competition program’’ was created by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and will be presented at the 60th annual Emmys in September.

The award recognizes that reality TV has become ‘‘an integral part of television and our culture,’’ John Shaffner, chairman and CEO of the TV academy, said in a statement Tuesday announcing the new honor.

Besides Seacrest of ‘‘American Idol,’’ Mandel of ‘‘Deal or No Deal’’ and Banks of ‘‘America’s Next Top Model,’’ other potential nominees identified by the academy include Ty Pennington of ‘‘Extreme Makeover Home Edition,’’ Jeff Foxworthy of ‘‘Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader?’’ and Tom Bergeron and Samantha Harris of ‘‘Dancing With the Stars.’’

Eligibility is open to hosts of programs entered in the reality program and reality-competition categories. Sorry, Simon Cowell: The award isn’t for ‘‘reactive participants or judges,’’ the academy rules state.


No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Thomas Conner published on April 23, 2008 10:52 AM.

Mambo makes mischief for Marlee Matlin was the previous entry in this blog.

Naomi Campbell stars in 'Ugly Betty' season finale is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.