Chicago Sun-Times
The scoop from Washington

White House honors Evanston, Darien math and science teachers

| No Comments

WASHINGTON--The White House honored two Chicago area teachers on Monday: the Illinois recipients of the 2011 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are: Peter DeCraene, Evanston for math and
David Bonner, Darien for science.


Office of the Press Secretary


June 11, 2012

President Obama Honors Outstanding Math and Science Teachers

WASHINGTON, DC -- President Obama today named 97 mathematics and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The educators will receive their awards in Washington, DC later this month.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level. Each year the award alternates between teachers teaching kindergarten through 6th grade and those teaching 7th through 12th grades. The 2011 awardees named today teach 7th through 12th grades.

Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also are invited Washington, DC, for an awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and the Administration.

President Obama has committed to strengthen science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education and prepare 100,000 effective science and mathematics teachers over the next decade. These commitments build on the President's "Educate to Innovate" campaign, which has attracted more than $700 million in donations and in-kind support from corporations, philanthropies, service organizations, and others to help bolster science and technology education in the classroom.

"America's success in the 21st century depends on our ability to educate our children, give our workers the skills they need, and embrace technological change. That starts with the men and women in front of our classrooms. These teachers are the best of the best, and they stand as excellent examples of the kind of leadership we need in order to train the next generation of innovators and help this country get ahead," said President Obama.

The recipients of the 2011 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are:


Peter DeCraene, Evanston (Math)

David Bonner, Darien (Science)

Leave a comment

Get the Sweet widget

More widgets


Lynn Sweet

Lynn Sweet is a columnist and the Washington Bureau Chief for the Chicago Sun-Times.

Stay in touch

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Lynn Sweet published on June 11, 2012 4:08 PM.

MSNBC's "Morning Joe" broadcasts live from Chicago on Tuesday was the previous entry in this blog.

President Obama official schedule and guidance, June 12, 2012. Baltimore, Philadelphia fund-raisers is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.