Chicago Sun-Times
The scoop from Washington

Michelle Obama fund-raising swing: Tucson, Las Vegas, Albuquerque

| No Comments


THE WHITE HOUSE
Office of the First Lady
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
April 25, 2012

UPCOMING GUIDANCE FOR FIRST LADY MICHELLE OBAMA

Monday, April 30, 2012

Colorado Springs, CO * 1:20 PM MDT/3:20 PM EDT - Mrs. Obama will speak to Obama campaign volunteers and supporters in Colorado Springs. This visit will be closed press.

Colorado Springs, CO * 3:00 PM MDT/5:00 PM EDT - First Lady Michelle Obama will deliver remarks during the Opening Ceremony for the 2012 Warrior Games. More than 200 wounded, ill and injured service members and veterans will compete in the third annual Warrior Games, representing more than 9,000 Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, Marines and Coast Guardsmen who are recovering from a variety of injuries. The participants will compete in seven sports -- wheelchair basketball, sitting volleyball, archery, swimming, track and field, shooting and cycling. The Warrior Games represent a nexus of Mrs. Obama's two main priorities as First Lady: supporting our nation's veterans, service members and military families through her Joining Forces initiative and getting more children to lead healthy, active lifestyles through her Let's Move! initiative. The men and women participating in the 2012 Warrior Games serve as an inspiration to all Americans for their service, sacrifice and achievements. In addition to speaking at the Opening Ceremony for the 2012 Warrior Games, later this year, Mrs. Obama will lead the Presidential Delegation to the Opening Ceremony of the 2012 Olympic Games in London. Members of the media who wish to cover the Opening Ceremony of the Warrior Games event should RSVP at http://www.cvent.com/d/tcq0gx. Please note, this event is closed to the public.

Tucson, AZ * 5:40 PM MST/8:40 PM EDT - First Lady Michelle Obama will arrive at Tucson International Airport where she will be greeted by youth volunteers at Tucson Village Farm, a working urban farm built by and for the young people of Tucson. The farm is supported by the University of Arizona and Pima County Cooperative Extension and teaches young people how to grow and prepare fresh food, and empowers them to make healthy life choices. Mrs. Obama will be greeted by elementary school, middle school, and college students who volunteer at the farm, including Arizona 4-H members and University of Arizona students. The 4-H Club has been an active participant in Let's Move! Faith and Communities, working to promote healthy eating and good nutrition all across the country. Mrs. Obama will also be greeted by Haile Thomas, who promotes healthier lifestyles as founder of the Healthy Girls Adventures Club and Youth Advisory Board member for the Alliance for a Healthier Generation. This greet will be open press, please RSVP to FirstLadyPress@who.eop.gov by Friday April 27 at 12:00 PM Eastern.

Tucson, AZ * 6:10 PM MST/9:10 PM EDT - Mrs. Obama will deliver remarks at a campaign event in Tucson covered by a print pooler.

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Las Vegas, NV * 9:00 AM PDT/12:00 PM EDT - Mrs. Obama will deliver remarks at a fundraiser in Las Vegas covered by a print pooler.

Las Vegas, NV * 10:30 AM PDT/1:30 PM EDT - First Lady Michelle Obama will speak to Obama campaign volunteers and supporters from the Las Vegas area. This visit will be pooled press.

Albuquerque, NM * 2:00 PM MDT/4:00 PM EDT- First Lady Michelle Obama will arrive in Albuquerque International Airport where she will be greeted by servicemembers and their families from New Mexico's Kirtland Air Force Base. Included in this group will be Technical Sergeant Jordan Bishopp, an Explosive Ordnance Disposal Craftsman, his wife Jaime and their infant daughter Zoey. Since joining the Air Force in 2002 Sergeant Bishopp deployed twice to Iraq and twice to Afghanistan where he tallied more than 450 combat missions and diffused 200 Improvised Explosive Devices (IED). Sergeant Bishopp was recognized as one of the 2011 Air Force Twelve Outstanding Airmen of the Year and has been awarded the Bronze Star Medal, three Army Commendation Medals and the Joint Service Achievement Medal. Sergeant Bishopp's wife Jaime also grew up in a military family with her father serving in the Air Force. She is currently a teacher at Desert Ridge Middle School in Albuquerque.

Mrs. Obama and Dr. Biden just celebrated the one year anniversary of Joining Forces, their initiative to honor, recognize and serve veterans and military families. During the anniversary tour, Mrs. Obama and Dr. Biden announced a major effort by 150 nursing organizations and 500 nursing schools to educate America's 3 million nurses on providing care for veterans and military families. Mrs. Obama also announced the 50,000th veteran to be hired through Joining Forces efforts highlighting the fact that the private sector is eager to hire veterans and military families because of the unique skill set that they bring to their companies. This greet will be open press, please RSVP to FirstLadyPress@who.eop.gov by Monday, April 30th at 12:00 PM Eastern.

Albuquerque, NM * 2:30 PM MDT/4:30 PM EDT - Mrs. Obama will deliver remarks at a fundraiser in Albuquerque covered by a print pooler.

###

Leave a comment

Get the Sweet widget

More widgets

Video

Lynn Sweet

Lynn Sweet is a columnist and the Washington Bureau Chief for the Chicago Sun-Times.

Stay in touch

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Lynn Sweet published on April 30, 2012 5:53 PM.

Chicago NATO Summit: Local officials claim worth $128 million in business was the previous entry in this blog.

Democrats Israel, Wasserman Schultz hit Chicago for fund-raising is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.