Chicago Sun-Times
The scoop from Washington

Obama Illinois co-chairs: Daley, Durbin, Rahm, Pritzker, Schakowsky, Solow

| No Comments

WASHINGTON---The Obama campaign is tapping six from Chicago to be national co-chairs: Bill Daley, Sen. Dick Durbin, Mayor Rahm Emanuel, Penny Pritzker, Rep. Jan Schakowsky and Alan Solow.

Daley was announced as a co-chair after he submitted is resignation as President Barack Obama's chief of staff. Emanuel, who was Obama's first chief of staff, business woman Pritzker and attorney Solow already serve as advisors to the campaign.

Illinois Democrats Durbin and Schakowsky as were Pritzker and Solow were among Obama's earliest backers when he launched his 2008 White House bid.

National co-chairs will serve as campaign surrogates helping fund-raise; they will also help to engage and mobilize voters. The campaign will have about 30 co-chairs.

Not on the list--Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr., (D-Ill.) who was a co-chair of Obama's 2008 campaign. Jackson is locked in a re-election primary battle with former Rep. Debbie Halvorson (D-Ill.) where Obama is backing Jackson.

Leave a comment

Get the Sweet widget

More widgets


Lynn Sweet

Lynn Sweet is a columnist and the Washington Bureau Chief for the Chicago Sun-Times.

Stay in touch

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Lynn Sweet published on February 21, 2012 11:01 PM.

Blues at the White House: 15-song set ends with Obama helping sing "Sweet Home Chicago" was the previous entry in this blog.

President Obama official schedule and guidance, Feb. 22, 2012. African American museum groundbreaking is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.