Chicago Sun-Times
The scoop from Washington

Michelle Obama fund-raising in New Orleans

| No Comments

THE WHITE HOUSE

Office of the First Lady

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 31, 2011

UPDATED GUIDANCE FOR FIRST LADY MICHELLE OBAMA

Tuesday, November 1 * 1:25 PM CT / 2:25 PM ET * New Orleans - Mrs. Obama will deliver remarks at a Democratic National Committee luncheon in New Orleans covered by a print pooler.

Tuesday, November 1 * 2:15 PM CT / 3:15 PM ET * New Orleans - As part of her Let's Move! initiative, Mrs. Obama will visit Royal Castle Child Development Center in New Orleans to highlight the importance of building healthy habits at a very young age. The Louisiana Children's Museum conducts East Sleep Play, an 11-week program at the center with children and parents focused on healthy eating and learning about good nutrition and physical fitness. This visit will be pooled for TV and space is limited for other members of the media. Press who wish to cover this event must RSVP to firstladypress@who.eop.gov by Monday, October 31, 2011 at 11:00 AM ET.

Due to scheduling conflicts, the following two events in Houston are postponed:

Tuesday, November 1 * 5:35 PM CT / 6:35 PM ET * Houston - Mrs. Obama will deliver remarks at a Democratic National Committee reception in Houston covered by a print pooler.

Tuesday, November 1 * 7:55 PM CT / 8:55 PM ET * Houston - Mrs. Obama will deliver remarks at a Democratic National Committee dinner in Houston covered by a print pooler.

Wednesday, November 2 * 2:30 PM ET * White House -First Lady Michelle Obama, the honorary chair of the President's Committee on the Arts and the Humanities (PCAH), will highlight the importance of after-school and out-of-school arts and humanities education by hosting the PCAH's National Arts and Humanities Youth Program Awards - the country's highest honor in this field. The awards focus national attention on exemplary programs currently fostering the creative and intellectual development of America's children and youth through education and practical experience in the arts and the humanities. On Wednesday, the award will be given to 12 successful programs across the country that reach underserved children and youth. In addition to the First Lady's involvement, award co-chairs including the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) will participate and be complemented by select performances from awardees. This event will be livestreamed at www.whitehouse.gov/live.

National Arts and Humanities Youth Program Award recipients include: ArtLab; ArtWorks; Fleisher Youth Art Programs; Humanities Rock; Native American Composer Apprentice Project; Positive Directions Through Dance; Saturday Academies of American History; Sojourn to the Past; Young People's Chorus of New York City; Young Shakespeare Workshop; Zumix; and 826 Seattle.

Members of the media who wish to cover this event must RSVP to firstladypress@who.eop.gov by Monday, October 31, 2011 at 5:00 PM ET. Press who do not have a White House hard pass must include their social security number, date of birth, country of citizenship, current city/state of residence and gender.

#

-----

Leave a comment

Get the Sweet widget

More widgets

Video

Lynn Sweet

Lynn Sweet is a columnist and the Washington Bureau Chief for the Chicago Sun-Times.

Stay in touch

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Lynn Sweet published on November 1, 2011 8:36 AM.

President Obama official schedule and guidance, Nov. 1, 2011. Swing state media blitz was the previous entry in this blog.

Rahm Emanuel's Nov. 1, 2011 public schedule. Nothing is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.