Chicago Sun-Times
The scoop from Washington

Democratic 2012 Convention in Charlotte top staffers. The list

| No Comments

DNC Chair Debbie Wasserman Schultz Announces Senior Leadership Team for 2012 Democratic National Convention in Charlotte

Washington, DC- Democratic National Committee Chair Debbie Wasserman Schultz today announced members of the senior leadership team for the 2012 Democratic National Convention Committee (DNCC). The accomplished group of professionals brings a wealth of experience and talent to the 2012 Convention in Charlotte.

"We're very excited to bring the 2012 Democratic National Convention to Charlotte where we will re-nominate President Barack Obama," said DNC Chair Debbie Wasserman Schultz. "The team we've put together to lead the Convention embodies the diversity and talent of the Democratic Party, and they'll work closely with our partners in Charlotte to put on an event that showcases the progress President Obama and Democrats have made on behalf of the American people and our vision for the future."

Heading up the DNCC as Chief Executive Officer will be Stephen J. Kerrigan, who ran the site selection process at the DNC. Kerrigan has a long history working in government and politics, including more than a decade with the late Senator Kennedy, as chief of staff for the Democratic National Convention Host Committee in Boston in 2004, and as chief of staff for President Obama's Presidential Inaugural Committee.

Travis Dredd, who comes most recently from the Department of Energy, will be the DNCC's Chief of Staff and Treshawn Shields will leave her post at the DNC to serve as Deputy Chief of Staff. Cameron Moody, who has worked on four conventions, will be Senior Advisor. Theo LeCompte, who has years of experience working on large-scale events, will be the Chief Operating Officer. Eureka Gilkey moves from her position as White House Liaison at HUD to serve as the Director of Intergovernmental Affairs and Outreach, and Kevin Monroe will leave Mayor Foxx's office in Charlotte to serve as Deputy Director of Intergovernmental Affairs and Outreach.

Capitol Hill veteran and top aide to Assistant Democratic Leader James E. Clyburn Kristie Greco will be the Communications Director. Zoe Garmendia, who has served at the past four Democratic Conventions, will be the Director of Credentials. Kelsey Larus leaves the White House to be the Director of Housing. Andrew Binns, after serving at the past two conventions, will be the Director of Technology. Alejandro Rodriguez will move from the DNC, where he served as the Convention Operations Manager, to be the Director of Special Projects.


Leave a comment

Get the Sweet widget

More widgets


Lynn Sweet

Lynn Sweet is a columnist and the Washington Bureau Chief for the Chicago Sun-Times.

Stay in touch

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Lynn Sweet published on May 20, 2011 12:19 PM.

Rahm's May 20, 2011 public schedule was the previous entry in this blog.

Obama in Ireland to explore his Irish roots in Moneygall is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.