Chicago Sun-Times
The scoop from Washington

Who's at the Obama bipartisan health meeting: Durbin, Roskam, rest of list

| No Comments

from the White House....

The President will then host a bipartisan meeting at the Blair House to discuss health reform legislation. The President will offer brief opening comments, followed by Republican and Democratic Members chosen by their colleagues. They will then begin discussions around four themes: 1) Controlling costs - introduced by the President; 2) Insurance reforms - introduced by Secretary Sebelius; 3) Reducing the deficit - introduced by the Vice President; and 4) Expanding coverage - introduced by the President. The meeting will be pooled for TV and print in its entirety. There will be a pool still photographer spray at the top of the meeting. The entire meeting will also be streamed live on The President will be seated in the middle of one side of the hollow square, with the Vice President, Secretary Sebelius, and congressional Leadership seated alongside him at the table. Members will be seated by caucus around the square.

Members of Congress expected to attend the meeting include:

Senator Harry Reid, D-NV, Majority Leader

Senator Mitch McConnell, R-KY, Republican Leader

Senator Dick Durbin, D-IL, Majority Whip

Senator Jon Kyl, R-AZ, Republican Whip

Senator Max Baucus, D-MT, Chairman of the Finance Committee

Senator Chuck Grassley, R-IA, Ranking Member of the Finance Committee

Senator Tom Harkin, D-IA, Chairman of the Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee

Senator Mike Enzi, R-WY, Ranking Member of the Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee

Senator Chris Dodd, D-CT, Member of the Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee

Senator Chuck Schumer, D-NY

Senator Patty Murray, D-WA

Senator Kent Conrad, D-ND

Senator Jay Rockefeller, D-WV

Senator Ron Wyden, D-OR

Senator Lamar Alexander, R-TN

Senator John Barrasso, R-WY

Senator Tom Coburn, R-OK

Senator John McCain, R-AZ

Speaker Nancy Pelosi, D-CA

Representative Steny Hoyer, D-MD, Majority Leader

Representative John Boehner, R-OH, Republican Leader

Representative James Clyburn, D-SC, Majority Whip

Representative Eric Cantor, R-VA, Republican Whip

Representative Charles Rangel, D-NY, Chairman of the Ways and Committee

Representative Dave Camp, R-MI, Ranking Member of the Ways and Means Committee

Representative Henry Waxman, D-CA, Chairman of the Energy and Commerce Committee

Representative Joe Barton, R-TX, Ranking Member of the Energy and Commerce Committee

Representative George Miller, D-CA, Chairman of the Education and Labor Committee

Representative John Kline, R-MN, Ranking Member of the Education and Labor Committee

Representative John Dingell, D-MI, Chair Emeritus of the Energy and Commerce Committee

Representative Xavier Becerra, D-CA

Representative Louise Slaughter, D-NY

Representative Robert Andrews, D-NJ

Representative Jim Cooper, D-TN

Representative Paul Ryan, R-WI

Representative Marsha Blackburn, R-TN

Representative Charles Boustany, R-LA

Representative Peter Roskam, R-IL

** Note: Senator McConnell and Leader Boehner will designate one additional Republican member to attend.**

Leave a comment

Get the Sweet widget

More widgets


Lynn Sweet

Lynn Sweet is a columnist and the Washington Bureau Chief for the Chicago Sun-Times.

Stay in touch

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Lynn Sweet published on February 25, 2010 7:28 AM.

President Obama official schedule and guidance, Feb. 25, 2010. Bipartisan health care meeting was the previous entry in this blog.

Sen. Tom Coburn to headline Republican Chicago fund-raiser is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.