Chicago Sun-Times
The scoop from Washington

President Obama official schedule and guidance, June 5, 2009. At Buchenwald concentration camp.

| 2 Comments

THE WHITE HOUSE
Office of the Press Secretary

______________________________________________________________________________

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 4 , 2009

DAILY GUIDANCE AND PRESS SCHEDULE FOR FRIDAY, JUNE 5, 2009

The President will visit Dresden Castle tomorrow morning where he will sign golden books for the state of Saxony and the city of Dresden before holding a bi-lateral meeting with German Chancellor Angela Merkel and a meeting with an expanded German delegation. The golden books signing and the bilateral meeting have a pool spray at the top.

Following the meetings , President Obama and Chancellor Merkel will hold a press conference and then tour Church of Our Lady. This event is pooled for TV and open for correspondents.

In the afternoon, President Obama and Chancellor Merkel will visit Buchenwald Concentration Camp. The President will then fly to Ramstein to visit wounded troops at Landstuhl Regional Medical Center. This event is pooled press.

Out-of-Town Travel Pool

Wires: AP, Reuters, Bloomberg

Wire Photos: AP, Reuters, AFP

TV Corr & Crew: ABC

Print: Washington Post

CEST

8:55 AM CEST (2:55AM EDT) THE PRESIDENT signs Golden Books for Saxony and Dresden

Dresden Castle

Pool Spray at the Top

9:00 AM CEST (3:00AM EDT) THE PRESIDENT holds bi-lateral meeting with Chancellor Angela Merkel

Dresden Castle

Pool Spray at the Top

9:15 AM CEST (3:15AM EDT) THE PRESIDENT holds meeting with expanded German delegation

Dresden Castle

Closed Press

10:10 AM CEST (4:10AM EDT) THE PRESIDENT and Chancellor Merkel hold a press conference

Dresden Castle

Pooled for TV and open for correspondents

10:45AM CEST (4:45AM EDT) THE PRESIDENT and Chanceller Merkel tour Church of Our Lady (Frauenkirche)

Church of Our Lady (Frauenkirche)

Pool Press Coverage

11:25AM CEST (5:25 AM EDT) THE PRESIDENT holds for press time

Zwinger Palace

Closed Press

3:15PM CEST (9:15 AM EDT) THE PRESIDENT tours Buchenwald Concentration Camp with Chancellor Merkel

Buchenwald Concentration Camp

Travel Pool Coverage

4:05PM CEST (10:05 AM EDT) THE PRESIDENT makes a brief statement to the pool

Buchenwald Concentration Camp

Travel Pool Coverage

6:05PM CEST (11:50 AM EDT) THE PRESIDENT visits Landstuhl Regional Medical Center

Landstuhl Regional Medical Center

Closed Press

8:30PM CEST (2:30 AM EDT) THE PRESIDENT departs Ramstein, Germany en route to Paris, France

Ramstein Air Base

Open Press

##

2 Comments

I am a student at ramstein high school in germany and i was REALLY wishing that he could have come to our school today, i know that he is a really busy man but seeing that our graduation is tonight that would have meant a lot to all of us.

CONGRATS ON YOUR GRADUATION JULIAN, CONTINUED
SUCCESS, AND YES OUR PRESIDENT IS A VERY BUSY
MAN!

Leave a comment

Get the Sweet widget

More widgets

Video

Lynn Sweet

Lynn Sweet is a columnist and the Washington Bureau Chief for the Chicago Sun-Times.

Stay in touch

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Lynn Sweet published on June 5, 2009 1:59 AM.

Chicagoan David Jacobson, Obama fund-raiser tapped for Canadian ambassador was the previous entry in this blog.

Obama visit to Buchenwald concentration camp a message to Holocaust deniers is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.