The Huskies stormed back late to tie the game at 65 with under a minute left, before the Orange's Andy Rautins bricked a three-pointer. Then, things got complicated.
Syracuse corralled the offensive rebound and kicked it out to Scoop Jardine, who could have held on for the last shot of regulation. Instead, he inexplicably took the ball hard to the rack, getting blocked and turning it over in the process.
But the officials somehow awarded Syracuse coach Jim Boeheim a timeout, negating the whole play.
Replays didn't answer the question of if the timeout should have been awarded. To the naked eye, it sure looks like the ball was not in Jardine's possession when the signal for stoppage was made.
The rulebook weighs in, stating a timeout is, "granted and charged after a player or head coach makes a visual or oral request" and "when a player of that team is in control of the ball." The key word there is granted because that means Jardine needed to still be in possession until official John Cahill granted Boeheim's timeout request.
Still tough to call. Do you think the officials blew this one, or did it look legit to you?