Chicago Sun-Times
A hearty stew of offbeat sports and pop culture.

What was the deal with that pylon touchdown call in the Michigan vs. Michigan State game?

| 1 Comment | No TrackBacks
Sitting in the newsroom watching the game, our little quorum of journalists could not believe when the referees went up to the replay booth and returned a touchdown call on the catch by Michigan's Brandon Minor.

michtd.jpgIf we understand correctly, it was ruled a touchdown because Minor's foot hit the pylon in the air.  Our tiny brains thought that the receiver needed to establish contact with the ground in order for it to be a catch.

Judging by Michigan State coach Mark Dantonio's reaction, he concurs.

Can anyone tell us the ruling on this? Do you agree or disagree with the call?

UPDATE: Looks like ABC has a team working on this. Here's what they came up with:

fake rule.jpgThe plot thickens.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

1 Comment

I was curious too and was sure the officials were wrong. So, I did what any lawyer football fan would do--I looked at the NCAA rules. You can get them here:

And I would direct your attention to pages FR-80 and FR-81. Rule 4, Section 2 (Out of Bounds), Article 1.b states in full "A player or an airborne player who touches a pylon is out of bounds."

So, I think it is pretty clear that the replay official in charge screwed it up. Granted, I didn't read the entire rule book, but this rule would seem to cover the situation. Bummer for Michigan State fans.

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Kyle Koster published on October 25, 2008 3:36 PM.

Batting Stance Guy: It's a walk-off was the previous entry in this blog.

World Series Game 3: Rays pitchers are ready to hit is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.


Powered by Movable Type 5.04