Chicago Sun-Times
By Patrick Z. McGavin

Next best for all-area teams

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

To some extent, the boys' soccer season that just ended was about maintaining the status quo. The three teams expected to dominate this year, Warren, Naperville Central and Morton, opened and closed the season ranked in the top three.

Warren beat Naperville Central 2-1 in double-overtime for the Class 3A state title.

By contrast, the all-area team, published on the weekend of the state final, reflected the parity. Sure, the stars of Warren, Naperville Central and Morton, respectively, headlined the first team. Just like with the girls' team announced last spring, there were more great players than available slots.

Here's a follow up list, composed of many players, who were all considered for the all-area team.

Here they are, listed alphabetically by name, with school and class.

Forwards: Albert Arabik, Leyden, fr.; Erik Avalos, Bremen, jr.; Danny Buss, St. Laurence, sr.; Bernie Conley, Hinckley Big-Rock, sr.; Frankie Kocimski, Lyons, jr.; Abel Guzman, Morton, sr.; Omar Guzman, Kelly, sr.; Bryan Long, St. Ignatius, jr.; Spencer Moore, St. Viator, jr.; David Murphy, Naperville Central, Jr.; Patryk Paprocki, Curie, sr.; Mauricio Salgado, Round Lake, sr.

Midfielders: Jack Alberts, Fenwick, sr.; Nestor Ascencio, Streamwood, jr.; Ethan Claes, Barrington, sr.; Cullen Cummings, Downers North, sr.; Eric Diaz, Downers South, sr.; Alberto Eloyza, Buffalo Grove, sr.; Irving Eloiza, Buffalo Grove, sr.; Eduardo Espinoza, Joliet Central, sr.; Kevin Francis, Loyola, sr.; Sergio Fuentes, Lane, jr.; Phillip Gutman, Hinsdale Central, sr.; Nathan Hall, Glenbard West, sr.; Brett Heimerdinger, Lyons, sr.; Sean Kirwan, Warren, sr.; Joe Longhi, Sandburg, sr.; Mike McKune, Cary-Grove, sr.; Brandon Medina, St. Ignatius, sr.; Jared Moelart, Stevenson, sr.; Jackson Owens, St. Viator, sr.; Sam Murdock, Crystal Lake South, jr.; Anthony Parillo, Kaneland, jr.; Jack Patrick, Naperville Central, sr.; Alex Rohder, Sandburg, sr.; Marco Sanchez, St. Ignatius, jr.; Tony Severini, Warren, sr., Craig Scott, Lake Forest Academy, sr.; Mike West, Naperville Central, jr.

Defenders: Connor Allen, Naperville Central, sr.; Jonathan Balthazar, Evanston, sr.; Kyle Clancy, Palatine, sr.; James Colletti, Benet, sr.; Ross Comitor, Stevenson, sr.; Kyle Hamnn, Lemont, sr.; Francisco Moreno, Fenwick, sr.; Jim Ralph, Lincoln-Way East, sr.; Marshall West, Wheaton Academy, jr., Neil Wiaranowski, Naperville North, sr.

Keepers: Konrad Dziedzic, Leyden, so.; Alessandro Jaurez, Kelly, sr.; RJ Hill, Warren, keeper, sr.; Kyle Leber, Palatine, jr.; Quentin Low, Stevenson, sr.; Martin Rosas, Lane, sr.; Adam Zehme, Sandburg, sr.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Patrick Z. McGavin published on November 17, 2012 6:56 PM.

Final records was the previous entry in this blog.

Past and present about to collide is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.