Chicago Sun-Times
with Mark Lazerus

Te'o sets record with sixth national award, the Maxwell

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
There's only one award left for Manti Te'o to win. And it's the big one.

Notre Dame's star senior linebacker became the first player to win six national awards on Thursday, when he was named the winner of the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's most outstanding player. Earlier in the evening, Te'o won the Bednarik (top defensive player) and Walter Camp (player of the year) awards.

Previously this week, Te'o had won the Lombardi Award (top lineman/linebacker), Nagurski Award (top defensive player) and Butkus Award (top linebacker).

Michigan's Charles Woodson won five national awards in 1997, including the Heisman.

The Maxwell is a big one, the closest equivalent there is to the Heisman -- he beat out fellow Heisman finalists Johnny Manziel and Collin Klein for it -- which will be announced on Saturday. Te'o's win ended a nine-year streak of quarterbacks winning the Maxwell, and he's the first defensive winner since Pittsburgh's Hugh Green won in it 1980.

"I'm at a loss for words," Te'o said on ESPN (in his umpteenth interview of the week).

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Mark Lazerus published on December 6, 2012 9:26 PM.

Notre Dame's Manti Te'o adds Lombardi Award to his haul was the previous entry in this blog.

By the numbers: What a Heisman win would mean for Te'o is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.