Chicago Sun-Times
with Mark Lazerus

ND Names Fifth-Year Seniors

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
April 8, 2009

Mike Anello Named To Lott Trophy Watch List
Senior cornerback and special teams standout one of 42 top defensive players
selected who have biggest impact on and off the field

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif.  University of Notre Dame senior Mike Anello has been
named to the 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List, it was announced Tuesday by Ronnie
Lott at a luncheon in Newport Beach, Calif.

The Watch List is made up of 42 of the nation¹s top defensive players who
have had the biggest IMPACT on their teams on and off the field.  IMPACT
stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and

Anello, a 5-10, 170-pound cornerback, has been a standout special teams
player for the Irish and graduated with a finance degree in three and a half
years. The former walk-on player from Orland Park, Ill. was rewarded with a
scholarship prior to the start of the 2008 season. Anello has totaled 29
tackles, including 19 solo stops, with two forced fumbles and one fumble
recovery as a member of the punt and kickoff coverage units.

In 2008, Anello was named to the ESPN the Magazine/CoSIDA Academic
All-America second team and was recipient of the Nick Pietrosante Award and
the Rockne Student-Athlete Award at the 2008 football banquet.

Named after Hall of Famer Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college
football¹s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.  Now in its sixth year, The
Lott Trophy is the only college football award to equally recognize athletic
performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a
player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his
distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community
and Tenacity.

David Pollack of Georgia won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004.  DeMeco Ryans
of Alabama won the award in 2005, Daymeion Hughes of Cal was the recipient
in 2006, Glenn Dorsey of LSU in 2007 and James Laurinaitis of Ohio State
last year.  Georgia, Alabama, Cal, LSU and Ohio State have each received
$25,000 for their general scholarship funds.  In five years, the Pacific
Club IMPACT Foundation has now donated nearly $650,000 to various charities,
including the four universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media,
previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT
Foundation, The IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisers comprised of many
retired NFL players and Master Coaches, a distinguished group of former head
college coaches.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club
in Newport Beach, Calif. on December 13th, 2009.

The 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List
Mike Anello, DB, Notre Dame, Sr., 5-10, 170 (Orland Park, Ill.)
Pat Angerer, LB, Iowa, Sr., 6-1, 232 (Bettendorf, Iowa)
Matthew Bauman, LB, BYU, Sr., 6-1, 232 (Salt Lake City, Utah)
Patrick Benoist, LB, Vanderbilt, Sr., 6-0, 222 (Southlake, Texas)
Eric Berry, DB, Tennessee, So., 5-11, 195 (Fairburn, Ga.)
Alex Carrington, DE, Arkansas State, Sr., 6-5, 275 (Tupelo, Miss.)
Terrence Cody, DT, Alabama, Sr., 6-5, 365 (Ft, Myers, Fla.)
Reggie Carter, LB, UCLA, Sr., 6-1, 240 (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Harry Coleman, LB, LSU, Sr., 6-2, 205 (Baldwin, La.)
Kurt Coleman, S, Ohio State, Sr., 5-11, 188 (Clayton, Ohio)
Rennie Curran, LB, Georgia, Jr., 5-11, 228 (Snellville, Ga.)
Brian Duncan, LB, Texas Tech, Sr., 6-1, 238 (Baton Rogue, La.)
Brandon Graham, DE, Michigan, Sr., 6-2, 270 (Detroit, Mich.)
Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College, Jr., 6-4, 238 (Wayne, Pa.)
Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU, Sr., 6-3, 267 (Sugar Land, Texas)
Jeremy Jarmon, DE, Kentucky, Jr., 6-3, 268 (Collierville, Tenn.)
Greg Jones, LB, Michigan State, Jr., 6-1, 222 (Cincinnati, Ohio)
Jan Jorgensen, DE, BYU, Jr., 6-3, 260, (Helper, Utah)
Keaton Kristick, LB, Oregon State, Sr., 6-3, 226 (Fountain Hills, Ariz.)
Sean Lee, LB, Penn State, Sr. 6-2, 236 (Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Taylor Mays, S, USC, Jr., 6-4, 225 (Seattle, Wash.)
Rolando McClain, LB, Alabama, Jr., 6-4, 249 (Decatur, Ala.)
Gerald McCoy, DT, Oklahoma, Jr., 6-4, 300 (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
Bo McNally, S, Stanford, Sr., 6-0, 210 (Salt Lake City, Utah)
Derrick Morgan, DE, Georgia Tech, Jr., 6-4, 270 (Coatsville, Pa.)
Roddrick Muckelroy, LB, Texas, Sr., 6-2, 235 (Hallsville, Texas)
Mike Nixon, LB, Arizona State, Sr., 6-3, 227 (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Eric Norwood, DE, South Carolina, Jr., 6-0, 258 (Acworth, Ga.)
Vince Oghobaase, DT, Duke, Sr., 6-6, 300 (Houston, Texas)
Jeff Owens, DT, Georgia, Sr., 6-3, 298 (Sunrise, Fla.)
Joe Pawelek, LB, Baylor, Sr., 6-2, 240 (San Antonio, Texas)
George Selvie, DE, South Florida, Jr., 6-4, 242 (Pensacola, Fla.)
Brandon Spikes, LB, Florida, Jr., 6-3, 245 (Shelby, N.C.)
Darrell Stuckey, DB, Kansas, Sr., 6-1, 205 (Kansas City, Mo.)
Ndamukong Suh, DE, Nebraska, Sr., 6-4, 300 (Portland, Ore.)
Syd¹Quan Thompson, DB, Cal, Sr., 5-9, 187 (Sacramento, Calif.)
Alterraun Verner, DB, UCLA, Jr., 5-11, 178 (Carson, Calif.)
Ward, T.J., DB, Oregon, Sr., 5-11, 200 (Antoch, Calif.)
Sean Weatherspoon, LB, Missouri, Jr., 6-1, 230 (Jasper, Texas)
Ryan Winterswyk, DE, Boise State, Sr., 6-4, 258 (La Habra, Calif.)
Reed Williams, LB, Sr., West Virginia, 6-1, 228 (Moorefieild, WVa.)
Corey Wootton, DE, Sr., Northwestern, 6-7, 270 (Rutherford, N.J.)

Brian Hardin
Director of Football Media Relations
University of Notre Dame
112 Joyce Center
Notre Dame, IN  46556
Office - 574.631.9471
Cell - 574.532.4134

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Neil Hayes published on April 8, 2009 7:52 PM.

ND Names was the previous entry in this blog.

If the Irish ever did join the Big Ten. . . is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.