Chicago Sun-Times
with Mark Lazerus

March 2009 Archives


March 20, 2009

Charlie Weis

BRIAN HARDIN: Good afternoon, everyone, this is Brian Hardin here at Notre Dame. We have Coach Weis at the front table. He's going to start with some opening remarks, and we'll take questions from the media. 

Charlie Weis listed his objectives for spring practices, and said his intent is to coach from the field and not the coaches' booth next season although he reserves the right to change his mind.

Counting graduate assistants, the Notre Dame coach's staff has five new faces this spring while other assistants will be taking on new responsibilities. Weis said getting that coaching staff to mesh not only with each other but with players is the first of four main objectives this spring.

Notes on ND's Pro Day

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Notes From Notre Dame Sports Information Department on Notre Dame's Pro Day

NOTRE DAME, Ind.  Safety David Bruton was the main attraction for NFL
scouts Thursday as Notre Dame held its annual Pro Day but it was cornerback
Terrail Lambert that probably boosted his stock the most.
March 9, 2009

Ticket Information for 2009 Blue-Gold Spring Football Festival
80th annual Blue-Gold game set for Saturday, April 18 at 1:35 pm

March 4, 2009                                                            //FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE//
            NOTRE DAME, Ind.
 - The names of three former Notre Dame football all-stars -- Tim Brown, Dave Casper and Bob Golic -- appear on the National Football Foundation's College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A) ballot released today. The ballot contains names of 76 players and six coaches vying for induction in 2009. 
The ballot hit the mail to the more than 12,000 members of the NFF and College Hall of Fame whose votes will be recorded and submitted to the Foundation's honors court, which deliberates and is responsible for selecting the class. The honors court, an 13-member panel chaired by Gene Corrigan, the former Notre Dame athletic director, Atlantic Coast Conference commissioner and NCAA past president.
The Hall of Fame class will be announced April 30 and then inducted at the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame's 52nd Awards Dinner Dec. 8 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.
To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been chosen first-team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams, played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior, played within the last 50 years and be retired from playing professional football. Coaches must be out of the college coaching profession for at least three years, coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach, not be coaching on the professional level and have won at least 60 percent of their games. In both cases, the candidate's post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.
Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are submitted to one of eight district screening committees, depending on their geographic location, which conducts a vote to determine who appears on the ballot and represents their respective districts. Each year, 15 candidates not selected for the Hall of Fame are named automatic holdovers and bypass the district screening process and automatically appear on the ballot the following year.
            Here are details on the three former Irish players on the ballot:
           * Tim Brown - Wide Receiver - Two-time first-team All-American in 1986 and 1987 . . . unanimous selection in 1987 . . . Heisman Trophy winner in 1987 . . . won 1987 Walter Camp Player of the Year award . . . set 19 Notre Dame records during his career . . . set Notre Dame record for career pass reception yardage (2493) and returned six kicks for touchdowns (three punts, three kickoffs).
            * Dave Casper - Offensive Lineman/Tight End - 1973 consensus first-team All-American . . . played in 1974 Hula Bowl and College All-Star Game . . . Notre Dame co-captain and offensive MVP in 1973 on national championship team . . . 1973 Academic All-America selection . . . received post-graduate scholarships from NCAA and National Football Foundation . . . received NCAA Silvery Anniversary Award and is member of Academic All-America Hall of Fame.
* Bob Golic - Linebacker - Unanimous first-team All-America selection and a Lombardi Award finalist as a senior tam captain in 1978 . . . still is co-holder of Irish single-game record for tackles in a game with 26 versus Michigan in '78 . . . ranks second in Note Dame history with 479 career tackles, including team-leading 146 in '77 national championship season and 152 more in '78 . . . also a two-time All-American in wrestling. 
With 121 chapters and more than 12,000 members nationwide, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, a non-profit educational organization, runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in America's young people. NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, and annual scholarships of nearly $1 million for college and high school scholar-athletes.
Notre Dame has 42 former players and six former coaches already enshrined in the Hall of Fame, providing more inductees than any other institution. The most recent addition is former head coach Lou Holtz, who was inducted in December 2008 and will be enshrined in July 2009.


About this Archive

This page is an archive of entries from March 2009 listed from newest to oldest.

February 2009 is the previous archive.

April 2009 is the next archive.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.