Chicago Sun-Times
With Sun-Times sports reporter Herb Gould

Illini basketball schedule filled with challenge, opportunity

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

            The men's basketball schedule Illinois released Thursday will be a challenging one for new coach John Groce and his rebuilding roster.

            The nonconference schedule will be highlighted by trips to the Maui Invitational and Gonzaga, an ACC/Big Ten Challenge meeting with Georgia Tech in Champaign, the annual Braggin' Rights showdown with Missouri in St. Louis and Auburn at the United Center.

            The Illini will begin Big Ten play at Purdue on Jan. 2 and finish at Ohio State on March 10.  Their home single-play opponents are Indiana and Penn State. They will travel to Michigan State and Iowa for their only meetings with those schools.

            ``Our team will be tested early and often,'' Illinois head coach John Groce said. ``Our nonconference includes every situation imaginable. The journeys of November and December give us the opportunity to be prepared for an extremely competitive Big Ten race. There have been as many as six teams ranked in various preseason polls. With the tremendous players, coaches and home court environments in this league, we'll be challenged at the highest level throughout the conference season.''

 

 

2012-13 Illinois Basketball Schedule

DAY DATE OPPONENT LOCATION TIME TV

Monday Oct. 22 Orange & Blue Scrimmage Assembly Hall 7 p.m.

Saturday Oct. 27 Lewis (Exh.) Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Sunday Nov. 4 West Chester (Exh.) Assembly Hall TBA TBA

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday Nov. 9 Colgate Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Monday Nov. 12 St. Francis (N.Y.) Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Friday Nov. 16 at Hawaii Honolulu, Hawaii TBA

Monday Nov. 19 vs. USC % Lahaina, Hawaii 11 p.m. ESPN2

Tuesday Nov. 20 vs. Texas/Chaminade % Lahaina, Hawaii 9:30 p.m./4 p.m. ESPN2

Wednesday Nov. 21 vs. TBA % Lahaina, Hawaii TBA TBA

Sunday Nov. 25 Gardner Webb Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Wednesday Nov. 28 Georgia Tech # Assembly Hall 8 p.m. ESPN2

Tuesday Dec. 4 Western Carolina Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Saturday Dec. 8 at Gonzaga Spokane, Wash. TBA TBA

Tuesday Dec. 11 Norfolk State Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Sunday Dec. 16 Eastern Kentucky Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Saturday Dec. 22 vs. Missouri * St. Louis, Mo. (Scottrade Center) TBA TBA

Saturday Dec. 29 vs. Auburn Chicago, Ill. (United Center) TBA TBA

Wednesday Jan. 2 at Purdue West Lafayette, Ind. TBA TBA

Saturday Jan. 5 Ohio State Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Wednesday Jan. 9 Minnesota Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Saturday Jan. 12 at Wisconsin Madison, Wis. TBA TBA

Thursday Jan. 17 Northwestern Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Tuesday Jan. 22 at Nebraska Lincoln, Neb. TBA TBA

Sunday Jan. 27 Michigan Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Thursday Jan. 31 at Michigan State East Lansing, Mich. TBA TBA

Sunday Feb. 3 Wisconsin Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Thursday Feb. 7 Indiana Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Sunday Feb. 10 at Minnesota Minneapolis, Minn. TBA TBA

Wednesday Feb. 13 Purdue Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Sunday Feb. 17 at Northwestern Evanston, Ill. TBA TBA

Thursday Feb. 21 Penn State Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Sunday Feb. 24 at Michigan Ann Arbor, Mich. TBA TBA

Saturday March 2 Nebraska Assembly Hall TBA TBA

Tuesday March 5 at Iowa Iowa City, Iowa TBA TBA

Sunday March 10 at Ohio State Columbus, Ohio TBA TBA

Thu.-Sun. March 14-17 Big Ten Tournament Chicago, Ill. (United Center)

Tue.-Wed. March 19-20 NCAA First Round Dayton, Ohio

Thu.-Sun. March 21-24 NCAA Second & Third Rounds TBA

Thu.-Sun. March 28-31 NCAA Regionals TBA

Sat. & Mon. April 6 & 8 NCAA Final Four Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Dome)

% = EA SPORTS Maui Invitational

# = ACC/Big Ten Challenge

* = Bud Light Braggin' Rights

All times listed are Central.

All dates are subject to change.

Remaining times and television information will be released when available.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://blogs.suntimes.com/cgi-bin/mt-tb.cgi/49510

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Herb Gould published on August 30, 2012 11:08 AM.

The last time Illinois played in Soldier Field was the previous entry in this blog.

Illini QB Scheelhaase practices on injured ankle is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.