By Joe Henricksen

Illinois McD's All-Americans breakdown

| 1 Comment | No TrackBacks

By Joe Henricksen

The McDonald's All-American team was announced yesterday, and though it was a surprise to no one, Illinois will not have a representative in the game, which will be played in Chicago for the second straight year.

The startling statistic, however, is the fact this is just the second time in history no player from Illinois has been selected as a McDonald's All-American. The only other year Illinois was shutout was 1998. The top players that season included Mr. Basketball winner Brandon Paul of Warren, Drew Crawford of Naperville Central, Darius Smith of Marshall and Jack Cooley of Glenbrook South. Thus, that makes two out of the last four years Illinois has been without a McDonald's All-American after a three-decades long run of representation.

The Hoops Report breaks down the McDonald's All-Americans from Illinois by the numbers.

Schools with the most McDonald's All-Americans
King leads the way with five McDonald's All-Americans, including Efrem Winters, Marcus Liberty, Jamie Brandon, Teddy Grubbs and Rashard Griffith.

And those with three ...
Simeon: Derrick Rose, Deon Thomas, Nick Anderson
Peoria Manual: Frank Williams, Marcus Griffin, Howard Nathan
Farragut: Michael Dunigan, Ronnie Fields, Kevin Garnett
Proviso East: Dee Brown, Shannon Brown, Glenn Rivers
St. Joseph: Deryl Cunningham, Daryl Thomas, Isaiah Thomas

Look for Simeon to close the gap on Kind and add a fourth McD's All-American with the likely selection of Jabari Parker.

McDonald's All-American game MVPs from Illinois
Russell Cross, Manley (1980)
Efrem Winters, King (1982)
Kevin Garnett, Farragut (1995)
Eddy Curry, Thornwood (2001)

On a side note, current Chicago Bulls assistant Rick Brunson, the father of Stevenson freshman standout guard Jalen Brunson, was co-MVP of the 1991 McDonald's All-American game with Chris Webber.

Chicago Public League McDonald's All-Americans: 19
Wayne Blackshear, Morgan Park (2011)
Anthony Davis, Perspectives (2011)
Michael Dunigan, Farragut (2008)
Derrick Rose, Simeon (2007)
Sherron Collins, Crane (2006)
Sean Dockery, Julian (2002)
Quentin Richardson, Whitney Young (1998)
Ronnie Fields, Farragut (1996)
Kevin Garnett, Farragut (1995)
Rashard Griffith, King (1993)
Juwan Howard, Vocational (1991)
Jamie Brandon, King (1990)
Deon Thomas, Simeon (1989)
Marcus Liberty, King (1987)
Nick Anderson, Simeon (1986)
Efrem Winters, King (1982)
Russell Cross, Manley (1980)
Teddy Grubbs, King (1979)
Mark Aguirre, Westinghouse (1978)

Chicago Catholic League McDonald's All-Americans: 7
Bobby Frasor, Brother Rice (2005)
Michael Thompson, Providence (2002)
Andre Brown, Leo (2000)
Corey Maggette, Fenwick (1998)
Antoine Walker, Mt. Carmel (1994)
Tom Kleinschmidt, Gordon Tech (1991)
Eric Anderson, St. Francis De Sales (1988)

'Downstate' McDonald's All-Americans: 15
Shaun Livingston, Peoria Central (2004)
Darius Miles, East St. Louis Sr. (2000)
Brian Cook, Lincoln (1999)
Frank Williams, Peoria Manual (1998)
Marcus Griffin, Peoria Manual (1997)
Michael Robinson, Peoria Richwoods (1996)
Richard Keene, Collinsville (1992)
Howard Nathan, Peoria Manual (1991)
LaPhonso Ellis, East St. Louis Lincoln (1988)
Ed Horton, Springfield Lanphier (1985)
Roger McClendon, Champaign Centennial (1984)
Barry Sumpter, Lovejoy (1983)
Bruce Douglas, Quincy (1982)
Michael Payne, Quincy (1981)
Chuck Verderber, Lincoln (1978)

Hoops Report's Best McDonald's All-American from Illinois
Isiah Thomas, St. Joseph
We'll go with the recent ESPN ranking of the 35 greatest McDonald's All-Americans, where the superstar point guard Thomas was ranked No. 9 on the list from his 1979 McDonald's game appearance. A year later, Thomas was a member of the 1980 U.S. Olympic team, which wasn't able to compete in Moscow.

Also on ESPN's list of Greatest McDonald's All-Americans were Derrick Rose of Simeon, ranked No. 20, and Doc Rivers of Proviso East, who was No. 30 on the list. Rose's 2004 West team was ridiculously loaded, with Eric Gordon, Michael Beasley, Kevin Love, Cole Aldrich and Blake Griffin all joining Rose on the West squad.

Rivers scored 20 points in the 1980 All-American game and, along with Derek Harper of Florida, was considered the best guard in the country that year after averaging 22.3 points a game his senior year.

Hoops Report's Most Obscure McDonald's All-American from Illinois
Remember Bill Heppner of Crystal Lake Central? The 6-8 forward made the McDonald's All-American team in 1987 with the likes of Marcus Liberty, Larry Johnson, Dennis Scott and Sean Higgins. Heppner battled injuries throughout his career and never did become much of a factor at DePaul.

McDonald's All-Americans Staying Home
The state of Illinois has produced 60 McDonald's All-Americans. However, only a third of those 60 chose to stay home and play high-major college basketball within the state coming out of high school -- and only three of 18 since 2000.

Jereme Richmond, Waukegan (Illinois) • 2010
Dee Brown, Proviso East (Illinois) • 2002
Andre Brown, Leo (DePaul) • 2000
Brian Cook, Lincoln (Illinois) • 1999
Quentin Richardson, Whitney Young (DePaul) • 1998
Frank Williams, Peoria Manual (Illinois) • 1998
Marcus Griffin, Peoria Manual (Illinois) • 1997
Richard Keene, Collinsville (Illinois) • 1992
Tom Kleinschmidt, Gordon Tech (DePaul) • 1991
Howard Nathan, Peoria Manual (DePaul) • 1991
Deon Thomas, Simeon (Illinois) • 1989
Bill Heppner, Crystal Lake Central (DePaul) • 1987
Marcus Liberty, King (Illinois) • 1987
Nick Anderson, Simeon (Illinois) • 1986
Lowell Hamilton, Providence St. Mel (Illinois) • 1985
Bruce Douglas, Quincy (Illinois) • 1982
Efrem Winters, King (Illinois) • 1982
Teddy Grubbs, Westinghouse (DePaul) • 1979
Raymond McCoy, Bloom (DePaul) • 1979
Mark Aguirre, Westinghouse (DePaul) • 1978

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

1 Comment

All-Chicago Area All-American's Top "25" List

1.) Isiah Thomas
2.) Mark Aguirre
3.) Derrick Rose
4.) Russell Cross
5.) Jamie Brandon
6.) Glenn Rivers
7.) Eddie Johnson
8.) Deon Thomas
9.) Marcus Liberty
10.)Teddy Grubbs
12.) Efrem Winters
13.) Juwan Howard
14.) Kevin Garnett
15.) Anthony Davis
16.) Quentin Richardson
17.) Corey Maggette
18.) Raymond McCoy
19.) Nick Anderson
20.) Ronnie Fields
21.) Antoine Walker
22.) Rashard Griffith
23.) Sharron Collins
24.) Tom Kleinschmidt
25.) Dee Brown
HM.) Ben Wilson

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Joe Henricksen published on February 10, 2012 10:18 AM.

Public League coaches boycott sectional seeds was the previous entry in this blog.

Seeds, city and downstate talk is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.