By Joe Henricksen

Classic All-Star game should be a treat

| 2 Comments | No TrackBacks

By Joe Henricksen

Nationally, the McDonald's All-Star Game is the headline event when it comes to postseason all-star games for high school players. Locally, however, the Chicago High School Classic has emerged as the premier all-star game in Illinois over the past four years. This year's game features a bevy of the top prep players in Illinois. The game will take place Friday, April 9 at the Gentile Center on the campus of Loyola University.

In addition, the inaugural Illinois-Cook County Challenge will also take place, featuring some of the better unsigned talent in Illinois. Team Illinois will be comprised of student-athletes from Kane, Will, DuPage and Lake counties. Team Cook County will consist of players from schools within Cook County. Tip-off for the Illinois-Cook County Challenge will be 5 p.m., with a dunk contest scheduled for 6:30 p.m. and the Chicago High School Classic immediately following at 7:30 p.m.

Listed below are the rosters for each of the all-star games. For more information on the game go to

Chicago High School Classic
North Roster
Ben Brust, 6-2, Mundelein
Tommy Woolridge, 6-1, Foreman
Pat Miller, 5-11, Hales Franciscan
Fabyon Harris, 5-8, Hyde Park
Alex Rossi, 6-5, New Trier
Mike McCall, 6-1, Foreman
Wayne Simon, 5-10, St. Joseph
Alex Dragicevich, 6-6, Glenbrook North
Lavonte Dority, 6-0, Foreman
Fred Heldring, 6-10, New Trier
Austin Weber, 6-4, Glenbrook North
Jordan Threloff, 6-10, DeKalb

Head Coach: Dave Weber, Glenbrook North

South Roster
Karl Madison, 5-11, Springfield Lanphier
Ahmad Starks, 5-9, Whitney Young
Isaac Smith, 6-2, Leo
Vince Garrett, 6-5, Marshall
Jay Harris, 6-1, Oswego East
Eric Gaines, 6-4, Hillcrest
Anthony Johnson, 6-3, Whitney Young
Rayvonte Rice, 6-3, Champaign Centennial
Dwayne Evans, 6-5, Neuqua Valley
Reggie Smith, 6-0, Thornton
Brandon Spearman, 6-3, Simeon
Tim Rusthoven, 6-8, Wheaton Academy

Head Coach: Noah Cannon, Leo

Illinois-Cook County Challenge
Team Cook County
Demarko Nash, 5-10, Lincoln Park
Ryan Frazier-Chambers, 6-1, Evanston
Joe LaTulip, 5-10, Prospect
Lane Barlow, 6-0, St. Rita
Brandon Snowden, 6-1, Oak Lawn (Richards)
Marlon Senior, 6-4, Niles North
Dan Lalonde, 6-4, LaGrange (Lyons)
Julian Reed, 6-3, St. Patrick
Shawn Wallace, 6-3, Niles (Notre Dame)
Niko Scheinfeld, 6-5, Stagg
D.J. Bennett, 6-8, Orland Park (Sandburg)
Kevin Batson, 6-5, Foreman

Head Coach: Tom Sloan, Lyons

Team Illinois
Ben Daniel, 6-1, Plainfield (North)
Ryan Davis, 5-10, Deerfield
Nate Johnson, 6-3, Stevenson
Tommy Childs, 5-8, South Elgin
Lee Skinner, 6-6, Glenbard East
Rahjan Muhammad, 6-0, Neuqua Valley
James Fleming, 5-10, Glenbard North
Winston Williams, 6-6, Plainfield Central
Josh Rappaport, 6-4, Grayslake Central
Andrew Ziemnik, 6-4, Oswego
Luke Labedzki, 6-1, Bartlett
Kareem Amedu, 6-5, Neuqua Valley

Head Coach: Chaz Taft, South Elgin

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:



you forgot one player that stands out Nus Kahn

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Joe Henricksen published on March 26, 2010 2:33 PM.

Sizzling Spearman and more thoughts from Peoria was the previous entry in this blog.

Valpo lands high-scoring prize in Jay Harris is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.