Chicago Sun-Times
The latest news and updates from the Chicago Fire

MLS changes designated player policy

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Major League Soccer has changed in policy regarding designated players, and it could impact subsequent personnel decisions made by the Fire. The club doesn't have a designated player -- a high-profile star who can be signed without severely affecting the league's salary cap.
The Fire lost its lone designated player when Cuauhtemoc Blanco signed with Vercruz of the Mexican league in the offseason. Blanco was paid $2.3 million per season, which virtually matched the Fire's salary cap for the entire team. The new cap is $2.55 million. With a new collective bargaining agreement now in place, MLS teams are allowed to sign at least two designated players and have the option of ``purchasing'' a third for $250,000 that will be dispersed ito all clubs that do not have three DPs. A club will be charged $335,000 for each DP signed.
When the rule went into effect in 2007 teams could only sign one DP.
Just six designated players are on MLS rosters -- Juan Pablo Angel, David Beckham (out with injury), Julian de Guzman, Landon Donovan, Luis Angel Landin, and Freddie Ljungberg.
Former designated players in addition to Blanco, who played for the Fire from 2007 through last season, were Denilson, FC Dallas; Marcelo Gallardo, D.C. United; Claudio Lopez, Kansas City Wizards; and Guillermo Barros Schelotto, Columbus Crew. Barros Schelotto is still active, but no longer a DP.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Len Ziehm published on April 1, 2010 11:36 AM.

Fire could face Busch -- and soon was the previous entry in this blog.

Umanzor finally checks in is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.