Chicago Sun-Times

Popovich beats out Thibs for Coach of the Year

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Spurs' coach Gregg Popovich has been named the NBA's Coach of the Year, denying Bulls coach Tom Thibodeau a chance to become the first coach in history to win the honor in back-to-back seasons.

The NBA has announced that Popovich has won the award for the second-time in his 16-year career after leading a veteran Spurs team that includes Tim Duncan, Tony Parker and Manu Ginobili through the lockout-shortened, 66-game season with a 50-16 record.

Popovich finished with 467 votes from a panel of 119 sportswriters and broadcasters. Thibodeau had 315 points. The Pacers' Frank Vogel was third with 161 points.

The Bulls finished with an identical record but secured home-court advantage through the NBA Finals because they defeated the Spurs in their only head-to-head meeting this season.

Thibodeau led the Bulls to the league's best record for the second straight season despite players missing 98 games because of illness or injuries compared to 61 last season. Reigning MVP Derrick Rose missed 27 games during the regular season before tearing the anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee in Saturday's win over the Sixers in Game 1 of their first-round playoff series.

Thibodeau has much respect for what Popovich has accomplished in San Antonio while winning four NBA titles.

"When you look at what he's done for such a long period of time, to me they are the gold standard of the league because every year they find a way to be right at the top and they always have a chance," Thibodeau said before his Bulls defeated the Spurs in San Antonio on Feb. 29.

Not even Phil Jackson or Red Auerbach won Coach of the Year in back-to-back seasons, which may have been a factor in Thibodeau finishing behind Popovich. There was sentiment among some voters that if Jackson and Auerbach had not accomplished the feat nobody else deserved to, either.

Phil Jackson won 11 NBA titles but won the award only once in 1995-96. Auerbach won nine NBA championships and was named Coach of the Year in 1964-65.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Neil Hayes published on May 1, 2012 2:01 PM.

76ers see Kyle Korver as offensive key for Bulls was the previous entry in this blog.

Which Bulls team will show up in Game 3? is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.