Poetry: September 2008 Archives

Former U.S. poet laureate awarded $100,000 prize

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

Former U.S. poet laureate Louise Gluck has been awarded the Wallace Stevens Award, a $100,000 prize for ''outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry." Gluck, who served as poet laureate in 2003-04, is known for such books as Averno, The Seven Ages and Vita Nova. Previous winners of the Stevens award include Adrienne Rich, John Ashbery and Richard Wilbur.

Louise Gluck

About this Archive

This page is a archive of entries in the Poetry category from September 2008.

Poetry: July 2008 is the previous archive.

Poetry: April 2009 is the next archive.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.