Book Awards: April 2008 Archives

Local writer gets Edgar nod

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

Chicago-based author Jon Lellenberg, along with his co-authors Daniel Stashower and Charles Foley, was recently nominated by the Mystery Writers of America for a 2008 Edgar Award in the Best Critical/Biographical category for Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters (Penguin Press, $37.95)


Publisher's Weekly had this to say: "This fascinating collection of previously unpublished letters from the creator of Sherlock Holmes offers a revealing glimpse of a Renaissance man fated to be overshadowed by his most famous character. Beginning with correspondence from Doyle as an eight-year-old in 1867, the editors offer a warts-and-all picture of his life until 1920, 10 years before his death, covering the author's frank accounts of life at a boarding school, his struggles as a young doctor and aspiring writer, and his political advocacy. This will be essential reading for all fans of Conan Doyle and his sleuth."

The Edgar Awards —named after Edgar Allan Poe, of course — "are considered the Oscars of the mystery genre." The award ceremony will take place May 1 in New York. For more information:

Pulitzer Prizes announced

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

The 2008 Pulitzer Prize winners in the Arts category, which includes books, are:

Fiction: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz (Riverhead Books)

History: What Hath God Wrought: the Transformation of America, 1815-1848 by Daniel Walker Howe (Oxford University Press)

Biography: Eden’s Outcasts: The Story of Louisa May Alcott and Her Father by John Matteson (W.W. Norton)

Poetry: Time and Materials by Robert Hass (Ecco/HarperCollins) and Failure by Philip Schultz (Harcourt)

General Nonfiction: The Years of Extermination: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1939-1945 by Saul Friedlander (HarperCollins)

*Local interest: In the Drama category, Steppenwolf's Tracy Letts won for his play, "August Osage County." Click here to read more about Letts.

Kiriyama Prizes announced

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

NEW YORK (AP) — A novel about a young girl’s affinity for Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations and an exploration of life in and near the water in the South Pacific are this year’s winners of the 12th annual Kiriyama Prize.

The award is given for ‘‘literature that contributes to greater understanding of and among the peoples and nations of the Pacific Rim and South Asia.’’

Mr. Pip Fragile Edge

New Zealand author Lloyd Jones was honored in fiction for Mister Pip, in which a student on a war-torn South Pacific island escapes in her mind to Dickens’ 19th century London. The nonfiction prize went to Julia Whitty’s The Fragile Edge, a report on people who live by the water in the South Pacific and a celebration of the water itself.

Jones and Whitty each will receive $30,000.

The Kiriyama is sponsored by the nonprofit Pacific Rim Voices. Previous winners include Michael Ondaatje and Rohinton Mistry.

About this Archive

This page is a archive of entries in the Book Awards category from April 2008.

Book Awards: March 2008 is the previous archive.

Book Awards: May 2008 is the next archive.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.