Former U.S. poet laureate awarded $100,000 prize

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

Former U.S. poet laureate Louise Gluck has been awarded the Wallace Stevens Award, a $100,000 prize for ''outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry." Gluck, who served as poet laureate in 2003-04, is known for such books as Averno, The Seven Ages and Vita Nova. Previous winners of the Stevens award include Adrienne Rich, John Ashbery and Richard Wilbur.

Louise Gluck

0 TrackBacks

Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: Former U.S. poet laureate awarded $100,000 prize.

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Leave a comment

Type the characters you see in the picture above.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Teresa Budasi published on September 3, 2008 12:11 PM.

Biden book suddenly popular again was the previous entry in this blog.

Sarah Palin rhetoric is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.