Evanston writer wins Rona Jaffe award

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

Amy Leach of Evanston is one of six women awarded this year's Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer's Award, which is given annually to women writers who demonstrate excellence and promise in the early stages of their careers.

Amy Leach
Amy Leach

Leach and the other recipients -- Jennifer Culkin, Joanne Dominique Dwyer, Jolie Lewis, Hasanthika Sirisena and Therese Stanton -- will be honored in a ceremony tomorrow in New York City, where they each will receive $25,000.

Leach is working on her first book, a collection of essays described as addressing "the spiritual and the everyday with a comc's sense of timing to create something entirely original that falls on the boundary between prose and poetry." Her work has appeared in The Iowa Review, A Public Space and Identitytheory.com.

The awards program was created by novelist Rona Jaffe, who died in 2005.

0 TrackBacks

Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: Evanston writer wins Rona Jaffe award.

TrackBack URL for this entry: http://blogs.suntimes.com/cgi-bin/mt-tb.cgi/14991

Leave a comment

Type the characters you see in the picture above.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Teresa Budasi published on September 17, 2008 11:40 AM.

Britney's mom's book was the previous entry in this blog.

Oprah picks debut novel for Book Club is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.