Kiriyama Prizes announced

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

NEW YORK (AP) — A novel about a young girl’s affinity for Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations and an exploration of life in and near the water in the South Pacific are this year’s winners of the 12th annual Kiriyama Prize.

The award is given for ‘‘literature that contributes to greater understanding of and among the peoples and nations of the Pacific Rim and South Asia.’’

Mr. Pip Fragile Edge

New Zealand author Lloyd Jones was honored in fiction for Mister Pip, in which a student on a war-torn South Pacific island escapes in her mind to Dickens’ 19th century London. The nonfiction prize went to Julia Whitty’s The Fragile Edge, a report on people who live by the water in the South Pacific and a celebration of the water itself.

Jones and Whitty each will receive $30,000.

The Kiriyama is sponsored by the nonprofit Pacific Rim Voices. Previous winners include Michael Ondaatje and Rohinton Mistry.

0 TrackBacks

Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: Kiriyama Prizes announced.

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Leave a comment

Type the characters you see in the picture above.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Teresa Budasi published on April 1, 2008 10:14 AM.

Book deal for Massachusetts governor was the previous entry in this blog.

Dickens' desk up for auction is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.