PEN/Faulkner award announced

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

NEW YORK (AP) — Kate Christensen’s The Great Man, a novel about a celebrated painter and the three essential women in his life, has won the PEN/Faulkner award for fiction, the PEN/Faulkner Foundation announced Wednesday.

Kate Christensen

Christensen, author of three previous novels, will receive $15,000. The four other finalists, each of whom will receive $5,000, are: Annie Dillard’s The Maytrees, David Leavitt’s The Indian Clerk, T.M. McNally’s The Gateway and Ron Rash’s Chemistry and Other Stories.

Previous winners of the award, established in 1980, include Philip Roth, E.L. Doctorow and Don DeLillo.

The PEN/Faulkner Foundation, based in Washington, D.C., is a nonprofit organization ‘‘committed to building audiences for exceptional literature and bringing writers together with their readers.’’

0 TrackBacks

Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: PEN/Faulkner award announced.

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Leave a comment

Type the characters you see in the picture above.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Teresa Budasi published on March 12, 2008 3:41 PM.

Hemingway letters show Papa's affection for family was the previous entry in this blog.

Jim Dale to participate in short story tribute is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.