Chicago Sun-Times

Bears to announce Forte, Tillman as annual Piccolo Award winners

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Bears will formally introduce the winners of the annual Brian Piccolo Awards in less than a half-hour.

Matt Forte is expected to be the rookie recipient of the award.

Charles Tillman is expected to be presented with the veteran award.

The honor has been given annually to a Bears rookie since 1970 and was expanded to include a veteran winner in 1992. Bears players vote on the award and it is given to the players who best exemplify the courage, loyalty, teamwork, dedication and sense of humor of the late Piccolo.

Tillman becomes the seventh player to be honored multiple times and the sixth to win as a rookie and veteran.

Proceeds from the Brian Piccolo Cancer Research Fund benefit breast cancer research at Rush Medical Center and the Clearbrook Center for the developmentally disabled in Arlington Heights.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

Twitter updates


About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Brad Biggs published on April 23, 2009 10:07 AM.

Bears draft preview: Need No. 3 Offensive tackle was the previous entry in this blog.

Forte set the bar high, but Smith confident Bears will land impact player in 2nd round is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.