Chicago Sun-Times

Dent gets another crack at the Hall

| 4 Comments | No TrackBacks

From the Colonel's point of view, the voting members for the Pro Football Hall of Fame have another opportunity to get is right.

The Colonel, Richard Dent, did one thing right when he was a member of the Bears--rush the passer--and he made the cut Tuesday to the final 17 candidates for enshrinement this year. Dent is the MVP of Super Bowl XX and is the franchise's all-time sacks leader with 124 1/2. He had a team record 17 1/2 in 1984 and then notched 17 the next season en route to the franchise's only Super Bowl victory.

This marks the fifth time in the last six years that Dent has made the final group for consideration on Jan. 31, the day before Super Bowl XLIII in Tampa, Fla., when voting will take place and the Class of '09 will be announced. There are four first-time players on the ballot: Bruce Smith, John Randle, Shannon Sharpe and Rod Woodson. The other modern players are: Cris Carter, Dermontti Dawson, Russ Grimm, Cortez Kennedy, Bob Kuechenberg, Randall McDaniel, Andre Reed and Derrick Thomas. Also on the ballot will be two contributors, Paul Tagliabue and Buffalo Bills founder/owner Ralph Wilson Jr.), and Senior Committee nominees, Bob Hayes and Claude Humphrey.

Dent made the initial cut to 10 during voting last season but couldn't break through, and two pass rushers did gain entry--Fred Dean and Andre Tippett. It's impossible to forecast how the voting will go, but Smith is considered a top candidate and is also a defensive end. Whether or not that could bring attention to Dent's credentials, take away from his candidacy or have no impact is unknown. McDaniel is considered a strong candidate too. He was elected to 12 consecutive Pro Bowls.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:


Good luck to you this time Richard. You will always be one of my all-time favorite players! The hall of fame should be honored. GO BEARS!!

Hopefully Richard Dent gets in this time, if Tippett can get in, why not Dent? Once Dent gets in, its time to start pushing for one Mr. Jay Hilgenberg, the former Bears center was a 7 time pro bowler, and one of the best at his position throughout the 80's. GO DENT!! GO HILGENBERG!! GO BEARS!!

Good Luck Richard. Dent practically invented the swap the ball out of the QB's hand play.

I hope every year that Richard Dent will get the nod to the hall.

SuperBowl MVP, multi year allpro, who totally dominated with a fierce pass rush. Hell yes he should be placed in the hall and finally do so this year.

Good luck Richard, you were truly awesome to watch.

Come back to the Bears and coach the line, maybe you can get them to realize how to pass rush!!

Leave a comment

Twitter updates


About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Brad Biggs published on January 6, 2009 9:06 PM.

Shakeup continues: LB coach Lee out was the previous entry in this blog.

Hot Rod? Contrary to report, Bears have not made contract offer is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.