Chicago Sun-Times
By Pat Brozynski

Six Illinois players named All-Americans

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

minarick.jpg(Left) Waubonsie Valley's Rachel Minarick

One hundred fifty players from 40 states have been recognized as 2013 All Americans, including six from Illinois.

The players from Illinois include junior Ryann DeJarld of Mother McAuley, Ali Frantti of Richmond-Burton, sophomore Molly Haggerty of St. Francis, Courtney Joyce of Mother McAuley, Rachel Minarick of Waubonsie Valley and Taylor Tashima of New Trier.

Named highest honorable mention from Illinois were Sam Dubiel of St. Francis and Kimmy Martino of Immaculate Conception. High honorable mention selections included Kelli Bates of Bradley, Maddie Haggerty of St. Francis, Adeja Lambert of Keith Country Day and Caroline Wolf of Benet.

Special mention honorees included junior Lauren Anderson of Deer Creek-Mackinaw, Caroline Holt of Bloomington Central Catholic, Taylor Krage of St. Charles North, junior Sami Knight of Sandburg, freshman Grace Loberg of Geneva, junior Iman McGary of Keith Country Day and Maddie Timmerman of Breese Central.


Geneva's 6-foot-2 outside hitter Grace Loberg was the only Illinois selection among's list of the nation's most outstanding varsity-playing volleyball freshmen for the 2013 season.

A unanimous all-conference pick, Loberg led Class 4A supersectional qualifier Geneva in kills (312) and also was a standout defensively both at the net and in the back row, with 68 blocks and 179 digs. "We've never had a freshman make an impact like that," Geneva coach K.C. Johnsen said.

Loberg's teammate, 6-1 rightside Ally Barrett, was named to the highest honorable mention list, where she was joined by Rosary libero Martha Konovodoff, Stewardson-Strasburg's Becca Schlechte and Ashley Shook of Plainfield Central.

Special mention honorees include Kamryn Malloy of St. Francis, Kelly Metter of Columbia and Morgan O'Brien of Libertyville. Honorable mention selections include Erin Burke of Rosary, Callie Fauntleroy of New Trier, Sara Neilson of Benet and Mikayla Robinson of Harvest Christian Academy.


The Great Lakes Volleyball Center in Aurora will host the 2014 President's Day Tournament Saturday-Monday, February 15-17 at a number of locations in the western and far northwest suburbs.

The Great Lakes Center will host the 18 Open and Club divisions, the Schaumburg Convention Center will host the 17 Open and Club and 16 Open divisions, and the Rosemont Sports Dome will host the 15 Open and Club and 16 Club divisions.

Participating clubs include: 1st Alliance, A5, Asics KIVA, Club Kace, Dead Frog Far Out , Dunes, Fusion, Fort Wayne, Illini Elite, Michigan Elite, Michio Chicago, Milwaukee Sting, Premier, Powerhouse, Rolling Thunder, Sky High, Sports Performance, The Edge, Ultimate, UNO and Wisconsin Juniors.

Play begins at 8:00 a.m. on Saturday with pool play and resumes Sunday at 8:00 a.m. with gold, silver and bronze pool play and other consolation flights. The tournament concludes Monday.

As the tournament progresses, team information can be found at:


Here's how I voted in this week's AP Illinois Girls Basketball polls:

Class 4A

1. Homewood-Flossmoor
2. Whitney Young
3. Marian Catholic
4. Rolling Meadows
5. Fremd
6. New Trier
7. Neuqua Valley
8. Wheaton Warrenville South
9. Trinity
10. Edwardsville

Class 3A

1. Montini
2. Joliet Catholic
3. Quincy Notre Dame
4. Springfield
5. Morton
6. Washington
7. Normal University
8. Morgan Park
9. Bishop McNamara
10. Vernon Hills

Here's how the rest of the state voted:


(first-place votes, record, points, previous)

1. Homewood-Flossmoor (10) 18-2 109 1
2. Young (1) 24-3 100 2
3. Rolling Meadows 23-3 87 3
4. Edwardsville 22-1 67 4
5. Wheaton South 23-3 65 5
6. Marian Catholic 19-4 55 6
7. Fremd 23-3 51 7
8. Neuqua Valley 22-5 34 8
9. New Trier 22-2 20 10
10. Oak Lawn 22-1 4 NR
(tie) Trinity 20-5 4 9

Others receiving votes: Bolingbrook 2, Mother McAuley 2, Huntley 1, Bradley-Bourbonnais 1, Rock Island 1, Hersey 1, Belleville West 1.

Class 3A

(first-place votes, record, points, previous)

1. Montini (13) 26-2 139 1
2. Joliet Catholic (1) 22-1 126 2
3. Quincy Notre Dame 23-3 105 3
4. Springfield 24-1 101 4
5. Morton 23-3 82 5
6. Washington. 20-3 53 8
7. Morgan Park 18-4 42 6
8. Normal U-High 20-3 37 9
9. Hillcrest 18-5 25 NR
10. Bishop McNamara 18-5 21 7

Others receiving votes: Vernon Hills 17, Champaign Centennial 9, Burlington Central 5, Mendota 4, Richwoods 3, Rochester 1.

(Below) Aysia Bugg of Bolingbrook, which is among the teams receiving votes in this week's Associated Press Class 4A Girls Basketball Poll.

Thumbnail image for bugg.jpg

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Back Row published on February 12, 2014 9:17 AM.

Former Naperville Central star to pioneer Benedictine University men's program was the previous entry in this blog.

IHSA quietly drops another bombshell (and the ball) is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.