Chicago Sun-Times
By Pat Brozynski

More honors roll in for McAuley's Joyce, DeJarld

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

McAuley girls.jpgMother McAuley's Courtney Joyce (left) and Ryann DeJarld were selected as finalists for National Player of the Year in their respective classes by has announced its 2013 National High School Senior Player of the Year finalists. The list includes 70 players who made significant impact on their high school teams and the state. The award is based solely on high school achievements.

The list includes three players from Illinois - Richmond-Burton's Penn State-bound Ali Frantti, Mother McAuley setter Courtney Joyce and New Trier's Taylor Tashima, who was the 2013 Chicago Sun-Times Player of the Year.

Frantti had an outstanding season for the 23-14 Rockets. The Champaign News-Gazette Player of the Year registered 603 kills, 270 digs, 99 aces and 84 blocks this past season for a team that reached the Class 3A region semifinals. Frantti was named an Under Armour All-America and is the 2013 Illinois Gatorade Player of the Year.

The Western Illinois University-bound Joyce was a three-year starting setter for the Mighty Macs. She led McAuley to a 40-2 mark in 2013 and its first state title in 10 years. She amassed 757 assists, 237 digs and 117 kills and was named Player of the Year by the Daily Southtown Star and a Chicago Sun-Times All-Area selection.

Tashima, who was a member of the U.S. National Youth Team that finished second in the world, powered the Trevians to the Class 4A state semifinals for the second straight year. The Northwestern signee had 463 assists, 189 kills and 79 aces for a 31-4 team. She was named to the Champaign News-Gazette all-state team.

*** also announced the 35 finalists for the 2013 National High School Junior of the Year. To be considered a finalist for National Junior of the Year, a junior had to make a significant impact on her high school team.

Candidates were required to have statistics that were the best on their team at her position and had to be recognized among the top players in their state regardless of class.

Mother McCauley's Ryann DeJarld was the lone finalist from Illinois. A 5-10 outside hitter who is probably going to be a back row player for Notre Dame, DeJarld was a six-rotation force for the Mighty Macs in 2013 and helped lead McAuley to its first state title since 2004.

DeJarld averaged 5.4 kills per game in the state tournament and finished the fall season with a team-high 236 kills and a team-leading 76 aces. A Chicago Sun-Times All-Area selection, she finished second on her team with 298 digs and was an all-state choice by the Champaign News-Gazette.


Wilson! Wilson!

Wilson is back. At its regularly scheduled meeting in Bloomington on January 13, the IHSA Board of Directors approved a recommendation for a new ball contract. Chicago-based Wilson Sporting Goods Co. will return as the official ball of the IHSA beginning in the 2014-15 school year.

Wilson served as the IHSA's official ball partner from 1994-2009 and currently has high school ball contracts in 33 other states. The newly-approved contract with the IHSA will run through the 2023-24 school year.

Wilson balls will be used exclusively in IHSA state series contests in the girls badminton, baseball, boys and girls basketball, football, boys and girls golf, boys and girls soccer, softball, boys and girls tennis and boys and girls volleyball.

Bye. Bye, Baden.

The IHSA's current ball contract with Baden Sports concludes at the end of the 2013-14 school year.

The specific Wilson ball models for each IHSA sport will be announced later.


Some of the best in the suburbs meet some of the best in the city at the Chicago Public Schools City-Suburban Girls Shootout Saturday at Chicago State University's Jacoby Dickens Center at 9501 S. King Drive.

Bogan meets T.F. North at noon, followed by Marshall vs. Christ The King at 2 p.m., Bolingbrook vs. Morgan Park at 4 p.m. and Joliet Catholic vs. Whitney Young at 6 p.m.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Back Row published on January 22, 2014 6:57 PM.

Field steps down after 39 years as IC head coach was the previous entry in this blog.

Tashima, five other Illinois players up for Andi Collins Award is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.