By Pat Brozynski

Sandburg banks it without Bendell at Buffalo Grove

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

broncos celebrate.jpgBarrington's Peter Van Fossan (17), Charlie Spry (far right) and teammates hope to whoop it up at Wheaton South this weekend.

In case you missed it, Sandburg, without sidelined for the season setter Nick Bendell, defeated Glenbrook North 25-19, 21-25, 25-17 to win the Bison Battle Saturday at Buffalo Grove.

Sandburg (5-0) also defeated Naperville North (25-20, 25-12), Prospect (25-18, 25-18), Hersey (25-15, 25-16), and Glenbard East (25-23, 25-17).

Glenbard East defeated Buffalo Grove 20-25, 25-11, 25-14 for third place, and Hersey stopped Wheaton Warrenville South 25-18, 20-25, 25-18 for fifth.

Named to the all-tournament team were Jared Wilcox and Richie Pianek of Wheaton Warrenville South; Brian O'Keefe and Cody Bolan of Glenbrook North; Mike Fuerst and Foti Christacos of Hersey; John Hodul and Kyle Burke of Sandburg; and Zach Greene and Willi Brewer of Glenbard East.


A three-way tie in pool play dumped Lincoln-Way Central into the Silver flight at last week's Marist RedHawk Invitational.

But the Knights made the most of the demotion, defeating shorthanded Waubonsie Valley (25-11, 25-11), Lockport (20-25, 25-22, 15-10) and Notre Dame (25-15, 25-12) to win the bracket.

Oak Lawn finished 11th, beating Lockport 25-8, 25-19, and Elk Grove took 13th place by defeating Shepard 25-16, 25-7.

Mt. Carmel, the other team involved in that three-way tie, won the Bronze flight with a marathon 24-26, 25-22, 15-12 victory over Niles North.


Former Marist coach Bob St. Leger has Wheaton North off to a 4-1 start after the Falcons finished second at the Joliet West tournament Saturday.

Wheaton North defeated St. Ignatius (25-10, 25-21), Belleville (25-18, 25-12), Von Stueben (25-19, 25-14) and Fenwick (25-16, 25-21). The Falcons' only loss was a 25-20, 26-24 decision to Metea Valley.

Zach Sinn, an all-DuPage Valley Conference selection in 2012, led Wheaton North with 29 kills. Graham Clark added 24 kills, Mark Anderson had 22 kills, Elvis Minyakov had 17 kills and Hank Bowen added 77 assists.


The 24-team Tiger Classic hosted by Wheaton Warrenville South gets underway Wednesday and Thursday with pool play beginning at 5:00 p.m. The Gold division finals are scheduled to start Saturday at 1:00 p.m.

Here are the pools:

Pool A
1. Barrington; 2. Lincoln-Way Central; 3. Lake Park.
Pool C
1. Wheaton Warrenville South; 2. Waubonsie Valley; 3. Naperville Central.
Pool D
1. New Trier; 2. Minooka; 3. St. Rita.
Pool E
1. Buffalo Grove; 2. Downers Grove South; 3. Oak Park-River Forest.

Pool B
1. Sandburg; 2. Neuqua Valley; 3. Evanston.
Pool F
1. Glenbrook North; 2. Marist; 3. Stagg.
Pool G
1. Brother Rice; 2. Lincoln-Way East; 3. Andrew.
Pool H
1. Naperville North; 2. Oak Lawn; 3. Hilliard Darby (Ohio).

In pool play, Team No. 1 plays Team No. 2 at 5:00 p.m., then Team No. 1 plays Team No. 3 at 6:30 p.m. Team No. 2 plays Team No. 3 at 8:00 p.m.

*** recently announced its Soph 79, a list of the best high school varsity-playing sophomores in the country. The team is sponsored by Topical Gear, a company that designs innovative products that allow players to react faster, prevent injuries and provide support.

Only two Illinois players broke into the top 79 - Iman McGary, a 5-foot-11 outside hitter from Keith Country Day in Rockford, and 5-8 outside hitter Courtney Pence from Springfield.

Named to the "Highest Honorable Mention" list were Mother McAuley libero Carla Cahill, McAuley outside hitter Ryann DeJarld, Danville Schlarman middle blocker Laura Gross and Lyons setter Hannah Juley.

Cahill had 552 digs and earned All-Girls Chicago Athletic Conference recognition while helping to lead the Mighty Macs to the Class 4A semifinals. DeJarld led McAuey in kills with 219 and was second in digs with 389. Juley had 547 assists to go with 153 kills for the Lions.

"Elite Honorable Mention" honorees included Huntley's Kelsey DeWulf, Stagg's Lexi Mantas, Carly Nolan of Crystal Lake South and Lyons' Toni Saracco.

Named to the "High Honorable Mention" team were Plainfield Central's Elizabeth Hyland, Nazareth's Julia Saunders, DeLaSalle's Carleigh Barringer, Mother McAuley's Kelsey Clark and Kaneland's Ellie Dunn.

The "Honorable Mention" list included Mary Boken (St. Francis), Rachael Fara (Benet), Rachel Herrera (Illiana Christian), Mia Herrod (Proviso East), Lane Hindenburg (Fremd), Crystal Lee (T.F. South), Ali Lund (Lemont) and Kristi May (St. Ignatius).

Also, Mikaela Mosquera (St. Charles East), JoAnna Nowicki (Morris), Gabriella Olhava (Hersey), Sarah Shafiq (New Trier), Kristen Somerville (St. Ignatius), Courtney Stedman (Hersey), Haley Sullivan (Lemont) and Katie Vondra (Downers Grove South).

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Back Row published on March 26, 2013 9:14 PM.

Marist soldiers on without veteran coach St. Leger was the previous entry in this blog.

Glenbrook North's O'Keefe named MVP of Tiger Classic is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.