By Pat Brozynski

Rouse named Player of the Year in the ESCC

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Thumbnail image for rouse.JPG

Marist's JeTaun Rouse, (pictured at left) who should eclipse the 2,000-point mark for her career during the regional tournament, was named the Player of the Year in the East Suburban Catholic Conference. Fenwick junior Jade Owens was second in the balloting.


Ashley McConnell of Mid-Suburban League champion Fremd was named the Player of the Year in the Mid-Suburban West and Rolling Meadows junior Jackie Kemph was the Player of the Year in the Mid-Suburban East, the league's coaches announced last week.

Named to the all-conference team were junior Angie Kirchoff and senior Alexa Resch of Barrington, senior Bailey North of Buffalo Grove, sophomore Katie Lomas of Conant, and seniors Diamond Boyd and Kelly Naughton of Elk Grove.

Also, sophomore Haley Gorecki and senior Bernie Williams of Fremd, junior Morgan Harris and senior Casey Weyhrich of Hersey, seniors Rebecca Stoczynski and Destinee Young of Hoffman Estates, and seniors Nia Pappas and McKenzie Wiedemann of Palatine.

Also, sophomore Taylor Will of Prospect, juniors Alexis Glasgow and Jenny Vliet of Rolling Meadows, sophomore Jada Blackwell and senior Amanda Kelly of Schaumburg, and sophomore Deanna Kuzmanic of Wheeling.


One hundred fifty players from 40 states were recently recognized as 2012 All Americans.

Six players from Illinois were named All-Americans, including Lauren Carlini of West Aurora, junior Ali Frantti of Richmond-Burton, Hannah Kaminsky of Benet, Joliet Catholic's Morgan Reardon, Mallory Salis of Marist and Libertyville's Cindy Zhou.

Three Illinois players were named Highest Honorable Mention, including junior Maddie Haggerty of St. Francis, Brittani Steinberg of New Trier and junior Bryanna Weiskircher of Rockford Boylan.

Named High Honorable Mention from Illinois were Hinsdale South's Jessica Brezwyn, Champaign Centennial's Lauren Cloyd and Sophia Dodd of St. Ignatius.

Nine players from Illinois were named Special Mention, including Jill Conrad (Stagg),Sheila Doyle (Benet), Taylor Fricano (Palatine), India Green (Quincy), junior Courtney Joyce (Mother McAuley), Katie Roustio (O'Fallon), Caleigh Ryan (Glenbard West), junior Taylor Tashima (New Trier) and Kristen Webb (Libertyville).


Caleigh Ryan (by Jon Langham).jpgKelly Hunter, a 6-foot senior at Papillion-La Vista South High School in Nebraska who led the Titans to a 159-6 mark in her four years as a starter including three large-class state titles, is the 2012 winner of's Andi Collins Award given to the nation's best senior setter.

The Andi Collins Award is named for Mater Dei (California) setter Andi Collins, who died following a nine-month battle with breast on September 4, 2003 at the age of 16.

The Class of 2013 had some very high-level setters, including West Aurora's Lauren Carlini, who was No. 1 in the Senior Aces list of top recruits and earned Gatorade National Player of the Year honors.

However, because Andi Collins was a pure setter and the inspiration behind the award, players who hit as much or more than they set like Carlini, regardless of whether they'd be setters only at the next level, were eliminated from consideration.

Previous Andi Collins Award winners include Barrington's Nellie Spicer, who was an All-American at UCLA.

Candidates for Andi Collins Award to Nation's Top Senior Setter from Illinois were Erienne Barry (St. Charles East), Abby Fesl (Hersey), India Green (Quincy), Hannah Kaminsky (Benet), Caleigh Ryan (Glenbard West, pictured above) and Cindy Zhou (Libertyville).


Molly Haggerty, a 6-foot outside hitter from St. Francis who finished the year with 291 kills and 48 blocks for a 37-5 team, and MacKenzie Welsh, a 6-foot setter/outside hitter from Plainfield East who had 254 kills and 229 assists, were among the finalists for the National Freshman of the Year award.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Back Row published on February 11, 2013 9:34 PM.

Gaines making gains in school record book was the previous entry in this blog.

State's best small school players announced is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.