By Pat Brozynski

Just missed, coaches' favs and all-time greats

| No Comments | No TrackBacks


Bolingbrook's Morgan Tuck joined a pretty impressive list when she was named the 2012 Sun-Times Player of the Year.

Selecting just 40 players in an area as talent-rich as the Chicago area is not easy. Many other athletes deserved mention for their efforts during the 2011-2012 season.

Here are 24 more players (in alphabetical order) who were considered for honorable mention honors during the selection process for the Chicago Sun-Times all-area team:

Diamond Beatty, 5-4, Jr., G, Tinley Park; Kennedy Cattenhead, 5-9, Jr., G, Bolingbrook; Kiera Currie, 5-11, Jr., F, Romeoville; Alyssa Dengler, 6-0, Sr., F, Trinity; and Emma Donahue, 6-3, Sr., C, Naperville Central.

Also, Cassidy Glenn, 5-11, Sr., F, Providence; Lisa Fruendt, 5-9, So., G, Batavia; Jacqui Grant, 6-3, Jr., F, Maine South; Alex Haley, 5-7, Sr., G, Libertyville; and Rachel Hinchman, 5-6, Sr., G, Geneva.

Also considered were Debra Jenkins, 5-2, Sr., G, Morgan Park; Donna Koerber, 5-11, Sr., F. St. Joseph; Jessica Laird, 5-8, Sr., G, Burlington Central; Caitlin McMahon, 6-0, Sr., F, Lincoln-Way East; and Claire Monroe, 5-5, Sr., G, West Chicago.

Also, Lena Munzer, 5-8, Jr., G.Highland Park; Jade Owen, 5-7, So., G, Fenwick; Rachel Ross, 6-3, Sr., C, Waubonsie Valley; Abby Smith, 5-7, Jr., G, Romeoville; and Faith Suggs, 5-11, Fr., G, Plainfield East.

Also, Megan Walsh, 6-1, Jr., F, Marian Catholic; Jakeisha Wells, 6-3, Sr., F, Proviso East; Gabby Williams, 6-0, Jr., F, Plainfield East; and Apiphany Woods, 5-9, Sr., F, Marshall.

The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association recently announced its list of the top players in Class 1A and 2A. A number of Chicago-area girls were selected to the Class 2A team.

Named to the First team was Nikki Dizon (Latin).

Second team members included: Monica Hinderer (The Willows Academy); and Third Team: Keisha O'Neal (Tilden); Soly Roman (Chicago Academy); Cassidy Block (Timothy Christian); junior Melanie Ransom (Walther Lutheran); and Jackie Cardona (Aurora Central Catholic).

Named to the fourth team was Wayneshia Frazier (Holy Trinity).


In case you missed it, here is a list of the Sun-Times Players of the Year dating back to 1981:

2012 - Morgan Tuck, Bolingbrook
2011 - Ariel Massengale, Bolingbrook
2010 - Tricia Liston, Fenwick
2009 - Adrienne GodBold, Marshall
2008 - Sarah Boothe, Warren
2007 - Devereaux Peters, Fenwick
2006 - Amanda Thompson, Whitney Young
2005 - Deirdre Naughton, New Trier
2004 - Candace Parker, Naperville Central
2003 - Erin Lawless, Fenwick
2002 - Johanna Solverson, Lake Zurich
2001 - Cappie Pondexter, Marshall
2000 - Sarah Kustok, Sandburg
1999 - Olga Gvozdenovic, Loyola
1998 - Dawn Vana, Maine West
1997 - Natasha Pointer, Whitney Young
1996 - Tauja Catchings, Stevenson
1995 - Dominique Canty, Whitney Young
1994 - Terri Zemaitis, Downers Grove South
1993 - Kim Williams, Marshall
1992 - Robbyn Preacely, Morgan Park
1991 - Kina Brown, Washington
1990 - E.C. Hill, Whitney Young
1989 - Toni Foster, Marshall
1988 - Nancy Kennelly, Maine West
1987 - Michele Savage, Immaculate Heart of Mary
1986 - Sheryl Porter, Marshall
1985 - Shirley Joiner, Phillips
1984 - Kim McQuarter, Marshall
1983 - Marie Christian, Marshall
1982 - Jennifer Jones, Marshall
1981 - Janet Harris, Marshall


The Zebras of Northern Illinois (ZONI) volleyball officials' organization will be holding the 11th Whistle for a Cause Clinic from 9:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 10 at Niles West High School in Skokie. Proceeds from the event will be used to purchase volleyball equipment for area high schools that lack even the most basic equipment, such as balls and nets, for their volleyball programs.

Since the initial event in 1997, the clinic has raised over $22,000 for a variety of causes related to high school athletics. In recent years, clinic proceeds have benefitted local high school volleyball programs as well as three New Orleans high schools devastated by Hurricane Katrina.

Money has also been donated to assist families with medical issues. These have included seriously ill children of volleyball officials and coaches, high school volleyball players, other high school athletes, and the family of a volleyball player killed in the Columbine tragedy in Colorado.

In addition to money raised for purchases and equipment distributor contributions, many local high schools have donated their gently-used equipment to other schools that are in need.

The cost of the clinic is $20 for those who register before March 2. After that date, the cost is $30. Additional donations are welcome.

For more information about the clinic and to register, please visit the ZONI web site at Additional questions may be directed to Ed Vesely at or Nancy Nester at

ZONI is a high school volleyball officials' organization in the Chicago area. Its goals include recruiting and mentoring new officials, developing officiating skills, promoting good sportsmanship and encouraging advancement in official ratings and member evaluations

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Back Row published on February 29, 2012 6:11 PM.

"Zebras" set to stampede at Niles West was the previous entry in this blog.

Coaches announce their all-state selections is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.