Grammy lifetime honors to Gene Autry, Four Tops, Dean Martin and more

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

Musical cowboy Gene Autry is among the lifetime achievement Grammy recipients announced today. (File)

Gene Autry, the Blind Boys of Alabama, the Four Tops, Hank Jones, Brenda Lee, Dean Martin and Tom Paxton all will receive the Recording Academy's Lifetime Achievement Award at a ceremony on Feb. 7. They will be acknowledged during the Grammy telecast the next evening.

In addition, George Avakian, Elliott Carter and Allen Toussaint will be honored with the Trustees Award, and Clarence "Leo" Fender and Universal Audio will receive the Technical Grammy Award.

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors artistic contributions to the recording medium and the Trustees Award is for contributions to the music industry in a non-recording capacity. The awards are decided by a vote of the Recording Academy's National Board of Trustees.

Technical Grammy recipients are determined by the trustees and a vote of the Record Academy's Producers & Engineers Wing Advisory Council and Chapter committees.


0 TrackBacks

Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: Grammy lifetime honors to Gene Autry, Four Tops, Dean Martin and more.

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Leave a comment

Type the characters you see in the picture above.

Awards calendar

Your complete calendar of upcoming entertainment awards shows and other related events! To mark your calendar, click here.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Thomas Conner published on December 22, 2008 2:16 PM.

Tom Cruise will be stag at the Globes was the previous entry in this blog.

More Globes presenters announced is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.