Students honored by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. — Twelve students were honored with trophies and prize money Saturday for their short films at the 34th annual Student Academy Awards.

Actress Zooey Deschanel, director John Landis and Academy President Sid Ganis presented the awards at a ceremony at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which hands out the Oscars every year, presented the college students with awards in four categories. ...

Ben Wu from Stanford University won the gold medal in the documentary category for his film ‘‘Cross Your Eyes Keep Them Wide.’’

‘‘Art’s Desire’’ by New York University’s Sarah Wickliffe and ‘‘Mirage’’ by the School of Visual Art’s Youngwoong Jang tied for the gold medal in the animation category.

Winners get $5,000 for gold medals, $3,000 for silver medals and $2,000 for bronze.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to support college and university filmmakers. Past winners who have gone on to successful careers in Hollywood include Spike Lee, Robert Zemeckis, John Lasseter and Trey Parker.

A complete list of the winners in each category:

— Gold Medal: ‘‘Fission,’’ Kun-I Chang, School of Visual Arts, New York.
— Gold Medal: ‘‘Art’s Desire,’’ Sarah Wickliffe, New York University and ‘‘Mirage,’’ Youngwoong Jang, School of Visual Arts, New York.
— Bronze Medal: ‘‘A Leg Up,’’ Bevin Carnes, Ringling College of Art and Design, Sarasota, Florida.
— Gold Medal: ‘‘Cross Your Eyes Keep Them Wide,’’ Ben Wu, Stanford University.
— Silver Medal: ‘‘Ladies of the Land,’’ Megan Thompson, New York University.
— Bronze Medal: ‘‘Lumo,’’ Bent-Jorgen S. Perlmutt and Nelson Walker III, Columbia University.
— Gold Medal: ‘‘Rundown,’’ Patrick Alexander, Florida State University.
— Silver Medal: ‘‘High Maintenance’’ Phillip Van, New York University.
— Bronze Medal: ‘‘Screening,’’ Anthony Green, New York University.
Honorary Foreign Student Film Award:
— ‘‘Nevermore,’’ Toke Constantin Hebbeln, Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany.


0 TrackBacks

Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: Students honored by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Leave a comment

Type the characters you see in the picture above.

Awards calendar

Your complete calendar of upcoming entertainment awards shows and other related events! To mark your calendar, click here.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Thomas Conner published on June 10, 2007 5:56 PM.

Big shows remain so on big night for Broadway was the previous entry in this blog.

Tonys got whacked by 'Sopranos' is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.