George Strait leads ACM nominations

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — George Strait led the nominees announced today for the Academy of Country Music Awards with eight nominations, including entertainer of the year and top male vocalist. Vocal duo Brooks & Dunn got seven nominations and Rascal Flatts earned six.

Nominees were introduced by Kenny Chesney — the reigning ACM entertainer of the year — and the duo Sugarland. The announcement was made at the Country Music Hall of Fame and aired live on CBS’ ‘‘The Early Show.’’

‘‘Whenever you get nominated, it’s a reflection of a lot of people’s hard work,’’ said Chesney, who is nominated again for entertainer of the year as well as male vocalist.

Carrie Underwood received five nominations and Big & Rich got four.

‘‘I feel like I’m still in a dream,’’ said Underwood, the former ‘‘American Idol’’ champ whose debut album, ‘‘Some Hearts,’’ has sold 5 million copies. ‘‘My life has been such a whirlwind in the past two years, so please don’t wake me up.’’

The 42nd Annual Academy of Country Music Awards will be presented May 15 in Las Vegas.

Following is the list of nominees for the 42nd Annual Academy of Country Music Awards:

Entertainer of the Year: Brooks & Dunn, Kenny Chesney, Tim McGraw, Rascal Flatts, George Strait.
Top Male Vocalist: Kenny Chesney, Toby Keith, Brad Paisley, George Strait, Keith Urban.
Top Female Vocalist: Sara Evans, Faith Hill, Miranda Lambert, Martina McBride, Carrie Underwood.
Top Vocal Group: Diamond Rio, Emerson Drive, Little Big Town, Lonestar, Rascal Flatts.
Top Vocal Duo: Big & Rich, Brooks & Dunn, Montgomery Gentry, Sugarland, the Wreckers.
Top New Male Vocalist: Rodney Atkins, Craig Morgan, Chris Young.
Top New Female Vocalist: Miranda Lambert, Kellie Pickler, Taylor Swift.
Top New Duo or Vocal Group: Heartland, Little Big Town, the Wreckers
Album of the Year: ‘‘Hillbilly Deluxe,’’ Brooks & Dunn; ‘‘It Just Comes Natural,’’ George Strait; ‘‘Me and My Gang,’’ Rascal Flatts; ‘‘Some Hearts,’’ Carrie Underwood; ‘‘These Days,’’ Vince Gill.
Single Record of the Year: ‘‘Before He Cheats,’’ Carrie Underwood; ‘‘Give It Away,’’ George Strait; ‘‘I Loved Her First,’’ Heartland; ‘‘What Hurts the Most,’’ Rascal Flatts; ‘‘Would You Go with Me,’’ Josh Turner.
Song of the Year: ‘‘Amarillo Sky,’’ Jason Aldean; ‘‘Before He Cheats,’’ Carrie Underwood; ‘‘Give It Away,’’ George Strait; ‘‘If You’re Going Through Hell (Before the Devil Even Knows),’’ Rodney Atkins; ‘‘Would You Go With Me,’’ Josh Turner.
Video of the Year: ‘‘8th of November,’’ Big & Rich; ‘‘Amarillo Sky,’’ Jason Aldean; ‘‘Before He Cheats,’’ Carrie Underwood; ‘‘Hillbilly Deluxe,’’ Brooks & Dunn; ‘‘Seashores of Old Mexico,’’ George Strait.
Vocal Event of the Year: ‘‘Building Bridges,’’ Brooks & Dunn with Vince Gill & Sheryl Crow; ‘‘I Don’t Want to,’’ Ashley Monroe & Ronnie Dunn; ‘‘Me and God,’’ Josh Turner featuring Dr. Ralph Stanley; ‘‘Politically Uncorrect,’’ Gretchen Wilson featuring Merle Haggard; ‘‘That’s How They Do It in Dixie,’’ Hank Williams Jr. with Gretchen Wilson, Big & Rich and Van Zant.


0 TrackBacks

Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: George Strait leads ACM nominations.

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Leave a comment

Type the characters you see in the picture above.

Awards calendar

Your complete calendar of upcoming entertainment awards shows and other related events! To mark your calendar, click here.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Thomas Conner published on March 5, 2007 11:41 AM.

Hudson wins more at NAACP Image Awards; Obama, too was the previous entry in this blog.

Al Gore is not an Oscar winner is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.