British Oscar noms announced: Bond vs. Queen

| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

LONDON — ‘‘The Queen’’ and ‘‘Casino Royale’’ led the nominations for the British Academy Film Awards announced today, with Helen Mirren among the nominees for her portrayal of Queen Elizabeth II and Daniel Craig cited for his performance as James Bond. ...

‘‘The Queen’’ received 10 nominations, including best film, outstanding British film of the year, best direction (Stephen Frears), best screenplay (Peter Morgan) and best supporting actor (Michael Sheen).

‘‘Casino Royale’’ bagged nine nominations, followed by ‘‘Pan’s Labyrinth’’ with eight, ‘‘Babel’’ with seven, and ‘‘The Departed,’’ ‘‘United 93’’ and ‘‘Little Miss Sunshine’’ with six each.
Besides ‘‘The Queen,’’ nominees for best film are ‘‘Babel,’’ ‘‘The Departed,’’ ‘‘The Last King of Scotland and ‘‘Little Miss Sunshine.’’

Mirren’s rivals for best actress are Judi Dench for ‘‘Notes on a Scandal,’’ Penelope Cruz for ‘‘Volver,’’ Meryl Streep for ‘‘The Devil Wears Prada’’ and Kate Winslet for ‘‘Little Children.’’

Besides Craig, nominees for best actor are Leonardo DiCaprio (‘‘The Departed’’), Richard Griffiths (‘‘The History Boys’’), Peter O’Toole (‘‘Venus’’) and Forest Whitaker (‘‘The Last King of Scotland’’).

Nominations for ‘‘Casino Royale’’ also included outstanding British film of the year, special effects, music, cinematography and best adapted screenplay.

The awards ceremony will take place Feb. 11.


0 TrackBacks

Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: British Oscar noms announced: Bond vs. Queen.

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Leave a comment

Type the characters you see in the picture above.

Awards calendar

Your complete calendar of upcoming entertainment awards shows and other related events! To mark your calendar, click here.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Thomas Conner published on January 12, 2007 2:44 PM.

The secrets to red-carpet style success was the previous entry in this blog.

Reality mogul takes over MTV Movie Awards is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.